Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I'm a huge chili over. My husband? Not so much. I had made this twice before he actually tried it. Now my hubby wants to make this every time we make our menu for the month!! It is the absolute BEST chili ever! And the best beer to use is Moose Drool. It adds just the right flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
One of the best chilis I've ever made. I read the negative reviews saying that it was too sweet as is, and knowing I don't like sweet chili, I left out the brown sugar and was thrilled with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Tried it as close to instructions as possible and decided to tailor to our taste on the second batch. I added 1.5 lbs of meat, and seasoned it with Montreal Steak spice and Worcestershire sauce at least an hour before browning it. I cut half a pound of bacon in squares and cooked in a large sauce pan, removed the bacon and saved about 30ml of fat in the pan instead of the vegetable oil and cooked the rest of the meat in the same pan. Once the small sirloin cubes were browned and ground meat, garlic and onions were cooked, I dumped it all in a crock pot for a nice long 8hrs of slow cooking, we ate the next day for a deeper flavor. I used a Guinness, espresso beans to make the coffee, 2 habaneros for the peppers, wishing I would have had some chipotles on hand. Only one can of beans is enough for us. What you get is that sweet meaty chili and then the heat builds up. Heat lovers will want more fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is the BEST chili I've ever made. My husband has requested it on several occasions. It's a nice mixture of sweet/spicy. I can't wait to make this for my in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
THIS CHILI IS NOT SPICY AT ALL. There is a slight hint of spice in this chili, but it is a SWEET chili. I'm talking verging on the sweetness of candy sweet. While that may be a great thing for people who don't like or can't eat spicy foods, this is completely contrary to the kind of chili I grew up with. There is a definite distinct flavor in this chili that, while it's not a bad flavor, it is not worth beating down anyone's kitchen doors for. My favorite part of this chili was the steak chunks, and I will be implementing steak chunks in all future chili recipes, because I loved the texture it gave. However, over-all, this was a disappointing chili considering all the five-star ratings it received. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
It was good enough that I've made it a couple of times. Next time I will make it with 3 cans of beans, however. 4 cans of beans is just too many, even for a family that enjoys beans as much as my family does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I love this recipe! Tastes so much like my mom's chili (which my boyfriend calls "Christmas Chili" because of all the flavors), which is so amazing. I add in cinnamon sticks, leave out the chili peppers and use four different kinds of beans. I throw everything in the crock pot to cook all day while I'm at work - coming home to this chili all ready to eat is so comforting and absolutely delicious! Throw a little cheese and sour cream on top and get some corn bread to go with it and you're all set. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sued
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My husband just had 6 bowls! Only deviations were using 90% ground beef, used 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
delicous. my new go to recipe for chili. i always substitute chorizo though for the steak to save on cost. thats the only change i make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States