Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. Perfect recipe for a weekend afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe the way is written is great! Of course like others, I modified some of the ingredients. I used 2.5 lbs of ground sirloin and 1 lb of Italian sausage with the casing removed. I sautéed a large onion, 3 stalks of celery, 1 green pepper and 1 yellow pepper in bacon fat. Added to my meat mixture. I used one can of chili beans, 1 can of white kidney beans not drained and I can of drained black beans. I used 4 bouillon cubes instead of the beef both because I wanted my chili to have a thicker consistency. I used Guiness beer and Starbuck's coffee. I used 4 cans of diced tomatoes, added some Worcester sauce, removed the coriander seeds and upped the chili powder to 4 Tbsps. I used 2 jalapeño peppers, 1 Serrano, 1 poblano and 1 Anaheim pepper. I simmered for 4 hours and my husband and stepson LOVED it(I used the 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was not too sweet). I vacuumed packed and frozen most and put a little aside for the next day and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I took the lady's advice to try it before judging it. I changed a couple of things to match what I had on hand. I used very lean ground sirloin only. I did change the beans to a dark and light mix. I used crushed tomatoes that were very thick instead of the paste. The real secret is the coffe, chocolate, beer and brown sugar. That gives the depth and richness I percieve. I tried the chili before adding the chocolate, coffee and brown sugar, and it was plain and a bit flat. Adding those three items sealed it. I always use those three in my baked bean recipe. I used about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, per so many people's opiniom. I will use this recipe again, perhaps with the sirloin cubes, to see what that might add. Kudos, Sir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Too sweet for me but my son liked it and especially liked the sweetness. We both liked the depth the beer and cocoa gave it. The texture was perfect! Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I did everything as directed and added sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
As another reviewer stated, I would make this as is and then change it for your tastes. As written, it is a "Bean chili with meat" recipe. That means that every bite will be full of beans with some slight meat pieces. If you want "Meat chili with beans", meaning each bite will have meat and a few beans, I would reduce the beans from 4 cans to 3 and increase the sirloin to 1 1/4 pounds if you like a beef stew texture or increase the ground meat to 1 1/2 pounds if you like a ground beef texture. AS FAR AS THE SUGAR goes, use 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and taste it when the chili is done. If you still think it needs sugar just stir it in. BAM sugar problem solved. Now you don't have to worry if you should use less sugar. Also, the recipe does not state to wash the beans or not. I dumped all four cans with juice in and it was fine. If you like thick chili (like spoon it on a cracker) then I would throw the juice out before I put the beans in or cook longer without a lid on. The next time I am going to add some corn so that it has a crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this tonight for my family....They loved it...used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne,pinto beans instead of kidney beans,no cocoa because we were out of it and my secret ingredient (prepared mustard)...family said it was the best chili I ever made....Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernstyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pinson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is the ONLY chili I make... and have been for the past 9 years! I use Guinness for the beer, and sometimes dutch process cocoa. Just the right amount of heat, enough to feel it, but not so much my very mild son won't eat it. Have won several scout "cook-off's" with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this last night for the first time for a group of restaurateurs no less and it went down a storm! I used extra mince instead of the sirloin and was a little heavier than suggested on the seasoning and it came out even better than expected! Also made sure I used a high quality beer, wheat based and largely on the hoppy side without the usual hints of banana that comes with a wheat beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is amazing!!! I don't like hot and spicy chili so I only put just a couple of sprinkles of chili in. Loved the flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States