Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Best chili I have every had! Used less chili powder (2T, not 3T) and it was still quite spicy. Served it with Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this site and the pairing was perfect. Didn't tell family about the coffee and beer ingredients til after they raved about how good it was. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I am not a chili person however a young man at work introduced me to this recipe and I love it. It has very distinct flavors and is sure to please all. Though when I prepare, I use less beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Halved the recipe. Adjusted the liquids to use a full can of Guinness (I added a beef bouillon cube & instant espresso powder to the beer, and added water as necessary to have the right amount of liquid). Only had ground beef so used that for the full amount of meat. I blend an all-purpose seasoning that contains all of the spices indicated (as well as cocoa powder, instant espresso powder and brown sugar) so I used that and seasoned to taste. Only used one can of mixed beans as my boys don't care much for beans. Omitted the chile peppers. Served with 'Sweet Cornbread Cake' and 'Honey Butter', both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipe is a copy from Sam Adams. It is intended for a bottle of the Boston Lager. I make it at least once year for football sunday with my buddies. Recipe is good as is. The longer it simmers the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is the first time that I've written a Review on any website, but felt that it was necessary in this case. I followed the recipe exactly as written and have to say it was the worst chili that I have ever tasted. To me it was like drinking a thick, sweet tomato soup. I'm only sorry that I wasted all of the meat and other ingredients I used. I will try now to add a few things to change the flavor to that of real chili and hopefully make it edible. If I can't, down the disposal it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I fed this to a group of friends and they loved it. I was really worried about it the day before, but, like others said, it settled over night and ended up being amazing. I tripled the recipe, but left the coffee at 1 cup. I'm really sensitive to the coffee taste so I didn't want too much. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Best Chili I have ever eaten! It was delicious and my whole family loved it! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
By far my favorite chili recipe. For the chili peppers I like to use 2 pablanos and 2 serranos, 1 tbsp ground cumin instead of cumin seeds, and up to 28 oz of crushed tomatoes instead of the diced. The longer the simmer the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Menning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Plain and simple...this recipe should be renamed Dang Good Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
You may look askance at some of the ingredients, but I assure you, they all come together into a wonderful whole. This is a great and flavourful chili for those who realize that pain is not a flavour. It has a nice kick (and guests can always add more spice), but isn't overwhelmingly hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States