Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Hi Everyone. I am the original poster of this recipe. I posted it back in 2000 under the name ROBTX99, which I no longer use. I want to thank everyone for their great reviews, and suggestions. I spent a few years developing this recipe until I got just how I wanted it. I also now reduce the sugar a little at the suggestion of reviews received. Someone recently posted that this is a copy of a recipe used by Sam Adams. Not sure where that came from since this is my orignal recipe that I have been making since the 1990's. It has won numerous chili cookoffs over the years. Thanks again and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Best Chili Ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a very tasty and meaty chili rich in flavor. I will cut back on the sugar next time. Excellent with beer bread and/or amusement park cornbread, once again I would cut back on the sugar on either bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very good. I made it the day ahead, as suggested by other reviews. I also cut the sugar in half and it was plenty sweet for me. I used Guiness beer which I think was too strong. I also used just three cans of beans though four would be o.k but I liked three. Very good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schenier1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Best chili I have every had! Used less chili powder (2T, not 3T) and it was still quite spicy. Served it with Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this site and the pairing was perfect. Didn't tell family about the coffee and beer ingredients til after they raved about how good it was. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I am not a chili person however a young man at work introduced me to this recipe and I love it. It has very distinct flavors and is sure to please all. Though when I prepare, I use less beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Halved the recipe. Adjusted the liquids to use a full can of Guinness (I added a beef bouillon cube & instant espresso powder to the beer, and added water as necessary to have the right amount of liquid). Only had ground beef so used that for the full amount of meat. I blend an all-purpose seasoning that contains all of the spices indicated (as well as cocoa powder, instant espresso powder and brown sugar) so I used that and seasoned to taste. Only used one can of mixed beans as my boys don't care much for beans. Omitted the chile peppers. Served with 'Sweet Cornbread Cake' and 'Honey Butter', both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipe is a copy from Sam Adams. It is intended for a bottle of the Boston Lager. I make it at least once year for football sunday with my buddies. Recipe is good as is. The longer it simmers the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is the first time that I've written a Review on any website, but felt that it was necessary in this case. I followed the recipe exactly as written and have to say it was the worst chili that I have ever tasted. To me it was like drinking a thick, sweet tomato soup. I'm only sorry that I wasted all of the meat and other ingredients I used. I will try now to add a few things to change the flavor to that of real chili and hopefully make it edible. If I can't, down the disposal it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I fed this to a group of friends and they loved it. I was really worried about it the day before, but, like others said, it settled over night and ended up being amazing. I tripled the recipe, but left the coffee at 1 cup. I'm really sensitive to the coffee taste so I didn't want too much. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States