Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Okay this is amazing chili. I've made this about 5 times. The last 2 times I omitted the meat because I've recently become a vegetarian and its still great. I add carrot, green and red pepper and corn when I do it vegetarian style. I never add the coffee because I'm scared of the flavor and caffeine. I also never add the cocoa because I never have any, but I'd be willing to try! Also, the last time I threw in dry beans and everything cooked fine, but harsh on the digestion tract. If you throw in dry beans- make sure to rinse them GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I'm pretty sure I've tasted this before. I definitely recall drawing out a couple of strange ingredients from a person who had the best darn chili I've eaten in quite a while. I tried to keep it as close to the receipe as possible, without overflowing my 3 1/2 Qt slowcooker. I reduced my amount of beans to two cans drained and the sirloin beef was a little over 1lb, since 3/4 lb is a rarity at the store. I also used almost one chopped green pepper, 1 onion instead of two, Stella Belgium beer, 2 large chile peppers (which may have taken the place of 4). I also forgot, but added 30 mins later into 10hr low cook, 1 tsp of Better than Bullion Beef Stock (no water). This is the 2nd chili recipe I've tried from this site, and have to say this is definitely unique and complex, and quite yummy. The first was just so boring, it tasted like cafeteria prison food. It's very good as-is, but I'll be attempting with 1/4 packed brown sugar and draining/rinsing the beans and browned meat. It was just a tad too oily, even though I drained, and just a tad too sweet. Kudos to the originator. Love the hot and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is great chili. I did not add the 4 peppers called for, but add one teaspoon of chipolte powder. I also only used a heaping tablespoon of the brown sugar. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Just made this for my family and they loved it! They said it was the best chili I have ever made. Wonderful with corn bread or quesadillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I won 2nd place in a chili cook off with this recipe. My fiance can't stop talking about how good it was, and I've promised to make it again. I didn't have a problem with it being too sweet, as some reviewers suggested, but I did make it the day before I served it. Only change I made was to use two cans pinto beans and two cans kidney, instead of four cans kidney. The only reason I did that is just because I really like pinto beans :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Great chili! With a few mods, my coworkers and I took home the champion trophy at a chili cook-off...when none of us had EVER made chili before!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Excellent mix of flavours. Perfect for a wintery day. Very good for reheating the next day. Goes great with a dolop of sour cream or shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This turned out excellent I added 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (Embasa brand) and 1 cup of chopped sweet potatoe to this recipe and it was a huge hit. I loved the sweetness of the potatoe! Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States