Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This recipe is awesome. I do not put in any sugar or brown sugar. If I don't have any beer, I will double the beef broth. I use 4 or 5 cans of different beans. Pinto, red, kidney, black and chili beans. I use 3 or 4 smoked jalapenos, depending on the size. I have actually won chili contests with this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This was really delicious. I was very intrigued by the idea of adding the Guinness and it was very rich and had real depth. I will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is the best chili I have ever eaten!! I used red chili flakes instead of the chilis (because I was too lazy to go the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Great chili! Followed the recipe but did make a couple additions, green, red and yellow peppers, chopped and added as well as cremini mushrooms and some button mushrooms and a bit more cayenne, as I like my chili super spicy. Was great with some baguette, sour cream grated cheese and green onion on top :) will make it again for sure with a bottle of Flying Monkeys The Chocolate Manifesto (triple chocolate stout) I want to try next time, and maybe 1/2 espresso stout :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have always considered myself a Texas chili gourmet cook, but I stand humbled by this recipe! This is hands down the best chili I have ever eaten! Reminds me of a chili I enjoyed at a resort in Jackson Hole Wyoming! Always wondered what the secret ingredients were, and now I know! Beer and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chile'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is the best chili recipe I've ever tried. I made some modifications to suit my family. I substituted ground turkey and chicken broth. I also left out the hot chili peppers. I used four different kinds of beans. The coffee, dark beer and cocoa powder really make this chili exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I did make a few changes but the chili was amazing! I only used 1 pound of ground beef and skipped the sirloin to make this more budget friendly. I also used 2 cans of red kidney beans, 1 black beans, 1 pinto. Also, a large can of tomatoes. I like runny chili and I thought it was perfect. Fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good recipe, though I did tone down the sugar to half, use 2 cans of diced tomatoes, also doubled the ground beef to two lbs and skipped the sirloin (didn't have any). I also used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cans kidney beans, instead of all kidney beans. Very tasty, my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Excellent Recipe! Made for Super Bowl and it was a winning touchdown. Only deviation from the recipe, I didn't use all the hot chili's. I used one large jalepeño. The chili was a bit on the sweet side, but will use 1/4 cup brown sugar next time. Wonderful flavor, and is more amazing the longer it cooks or better yet the next day. This is a keeper. Thank You ROBTX99!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make this chili all the time, its amazing.. I always make it the day before and all the flavors are much better that way..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States