Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
A clear misuse of the word "awesome." Although I enjoy drinking dark beer (Guinness), it doesn't belong in Chili. The beer, sugar, cocoa (?!) and large number of other ingredients in this recipe killed the beefy richness and made it taste spicy and sweet. Chili is not brain surgery, and needs to be kept simple. If you want to spike your chile, try a little red wine at the beginning. Admittedly, I left out the coffee, but it would seem that coffee would further detract from the basic chile flavors, or should I say, flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Amazing! Made it exactly as written and we loved it. The flavor is remarkable; will add it to may favorites. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I just made this dish with my own little touches and it's awesome try it with shredded cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
my fiancé and I have made this chili recipe multiple times and it is OUTSTANDING! everyone raves about and we have yet to tire of it. we added the spices to our taste instead of following the measurements, we also renamed it Chewbacca Chili because it's such a hardy and stout chili that we felt it was appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this for the second time tonight. For the most part I really stuck to the recipe and and have to say this is just wonderful recipe. Thank you ROBTX99! I am so happy w/ the flavor, very intense and sophisticated. Hot, and sweet... worthy of a chili contest for sure! Here are my notes with just a few changes from the original ...1.5 Tbsp Williams Chili Seasoning, 1.5 Tbsp McCormick Chili Powder, 2 tsp. Chipotle Chili Powder, 1 tsp. African Bird Pepper. Steven's Point Belgian White Ale, no Cayenne, 1 lb. cubed sirloin, 1.5 lbs chili beef, 3/4 yellow onion, 2 Serranos, 1 Caribbean Red Habanero, 1 Anaheim Chile, Pintos instead of Kidney Beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Best chili I've ever had. I'm not sure that it matters (although some reviewers seem to think so) but I'm in TX and my husband was born and raised here. We were both blown away by this chili. Neither of us thought it was too sweet or too hot or too anything. The ingredients came together in perfect harmony and it was just right. Not a drop was wasted and I'm happy to report that it freezes very well. I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I made it as written. At the end of the cook time, it tasted fantastic but was a little thinner than I prefer so I drained and rinsed a can of black beans, pulsed them in the food processor to mash them up, and then mixed them into the chili. It thickened right up and went from a 4.5 to 5 stars. Second time I made a couple changes. Drained and rinsed kidney beans and only used 2 cans. Doubled tomatoes and drained them. Chili had a much better consistency but still wasn't quite thick enough so I stirred in a can of mashed black beans again and voila. I'll do it this way every time now. Oh, I couldn't find my whole cumin seeds anywhere the second time so I subbed 1/2 T ground cumin. Still delish. I'll use whole cumin in the future but just mentioning in case anyone is wondering if it can be subbed and by how much. Both times making this chili I used Shiner Bohemian Black Lager and Anaheim Peppers. The first time I used Starbucks Pike Place Coffee and the second time I used Starbucks Mocha Coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bccomp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Wow! This was my first attempt at chili and my husband and I loved it! I was hoping my kids would eat it so I cut the cumin coriander and Cayenne in half. We don't like a lot of beans so I only used two cans. I used one can of red kidney beans which I washed with water ans 1 can of chili beans including the jalapeno sauce. I also used diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Finally I only used one large jalapeno pepper and 1/3 cup brown sugar. Thanks. Will make again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Fantastic flavor! A real crowd pleaser! I used ground turkey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was ok. It is sweet like the reviews say, so I would cut back on the sugar. I also made the boilermaker tailgate chili recipe from allrecipes.com. The boilermaker recipe has way too many ingredients, but it was really good, so perhaps it's worth all the work and ingredients. This recipe is much simpler, but wasn't as good. My husband also said he thought it needed more meat and less beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
A little sweet but made with an espresso stout instead of coffee. Also did a pound of pork instead of sirloin. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States