Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This is the definition of chili for me! It's sweet, spicy, and full of complex flavor. I make the recipe as is and it always comes out perfectly. Leftovers the next day are even better. I usually freeze half the recipe for dinner another day and it thaws out wonderfully as well. A total win. This will be "my" recipe for chili from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
You can taste a hint of cocoa and it has a good kick at the end. Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This recipe is awesome. I do not put in any sugar or brown sugar. If I don't have any beer, I will double the beef broth. I use 4 or 5 cans of different beans. Pinto, red, kidney, black and chili beans. I use 3 or 4 smoked jalapenos, depending on the size. I have actually won chili contests with this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This was really delicious. I was very intrigued by the idea of adding the Guinness and it was very rich and had real depth. I will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is the best chili I have ever eaten!! I used red chili flakes instead of the chilis (because I was too lazy to go the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Great chili! Followed the recipe but did make a couple additions, green, red and yellow peppers, chopped and added as well as cremini mushrooms and some button mushrooms and a bit more cayenne, as I like my chili super spicy. Was great with some baguette, sour cream grated cheese and green onion on top :) will make it again for sure with a bottle of Flying Monkeys The Chocolate Manifesto (triple chocolate stout) I want to try next time, and maybe 1/2 espresso stout :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have always considered myself a Texas chili gourmet cook, but I stand humbled by this recipe! This is hands down the best chili I have ever eaten! Reminds me of a chili I enjoyed at a resort in Jackson Hole Wyoming! Always wondered what the secret ingredients were, and now I know! Beer and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chile'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is the best chili recipe I've ever tried. I made some modifications to suit my family. I substituted ground turkey and chicken broth. I also left out the hot chili peppers. I used four different kinds of beans. The coffee, dark beer and cocoa powder really make this chili exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I did make a few changes but the chili was amazing! I only used 1 pound of ground beef and skipped the sirloin to make this more budget friendly. I also used 2 cans of red kidney beans, 1 black beans, 1 pinto. Also, a large can of tomatoes. I like runny chili and I thought it was perfect. Fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good recipe, though I did tone down the sugar to half, use 2 cans of diced tomatoes, also doubled the ground beef to two lbs and skipped the sirloin (didn't have any). I also used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cans kidney beans, instead of all kidney beans. Very tasty, my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States