Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is the best chili recipe I've ever tried. I made some modifications to suit my family. I substituted ground turkey and chicken broth. I also left out the hot chili peppers. I used four different kinds of beans. The coffee, dark beer and cocoa powder really make this chili exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I did make a few changes but the chili was amazing! I only used 1 pound of ground beef and skipped the sirloin to make this more budget friendly. I also used 2 cans of red kidney beans, 1 black beans, 1 pinto. Also, a large can of tomatoes. I like runny chili and I thought it was perfect. Fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good recipe, though I did tone down the sugar to half, use 2 cans of diced tomatoes, also doubled the ground beef to two lbs and skipped the sirloin (didn't have any). I also used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cans kidney beans, instead of all kidney beans. Very tasty, my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Excellent Recipe! Made for Super Bowl and it was a winning touchdown. Only deviation from the recipe, I didn't use all the hot chili's. I used one large jalepeño. The chili was a bit on the sweet side, but will use 1/4 cup brown sugar next time. Wonderful flavor, and is more amazing the longer it cooks or better yet the next day. This is a keeper. Thank You ROBTX99!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make this chili all the time, its amazing.. I always make it the day before and all the flavors are much better that way..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have only tried making chili a few times, thinking it was a mysteriously cultural sort of dish. I followed this recipe to the tee (sort of), and it was AMAZING! I didn't have enough chili powder so I used a little chipotle. We had the kids come over and they took all of the leftovers. I didn't use any ground beef, substituting sirloin tips instead. This is without a doubt the best chili I ever ate, and I'm not just saying that because I made it. The only thing missing was cornbread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really good, although at first taste I wasn't sure. By the 2nd day, I knew it was my favorite chili. I'm not one to change recipes but I did add a can of corn for another veggie and some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Hi all, I made the recipe as written and it is a little sweet but I am perfectly happy with outcome! It is hardy and has enough of everything. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Horrible! SO SWEET. It tasted like sugar soup! I followed the recipe exactly. None of my family would eat it and they are not very picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States