Chili-Flavored Turkey Stew With Hominy and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Did not add peppers & only used 1 tablespoon chili powder. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It was very good! Used slightly less than 1/4 cup chili powder and leftover-turkey, diced. Only had crushed tomatoes, but that was fine as it made the stew liquid creamier. Like lasagna, it is better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I REALLY liked this recipe. Hominy can be found in the Hispanic section of our grocery stores and it really makes this dish superb! I added some tabasco for a bit more kick. Family loved it and it was a great way to use those turkey leftovers I had frozen since November! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I live in the Northeast and have never had a problem finding hominy. I always find it in the canned vegetable section, near the corn. I love this recipe. I used chicken instead of turkey (that's what I had on hand). So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is the frickin bomb! I used green onions instead, a 1 small yellow bell pepper, 4 cups of chicken broth, doubled the hominy, and omitted the salt and pepper. I am a salty girl and I can honestly say adding it at the end would have been too much, even for me. It was spicy enough, too, so no pepper either. I followed the cooking directions to a "t". Dude, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
All the time I was cooking this, I thought I was going to hate it. I don't care for tomatoe based soups and I don't like peppers. I tasted it while the tomatoes were simmering and thought it was terrible. But when I added the turkey and cilantro, there was a magic transformation. Suddenly it was delicious. I will make this many times. I used smoked turkey because it was what I had, and I think that made it better. I was skeptical about the amount of chili, but it was not too much at all. This is an excellent recipe that I will pass on to others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Really good, almost Chilis...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Like others, I modified with pinto beans. I also only used a tablespoon of chili powder. It was good, a great way to use leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
YUM! I really really like this! However, I made a few SUBSTANTIAL changes: I added beans instead of hominy. Hominy doesn't exist in the Northeast - at least that I could find - so I used beans. I used two approx. 1.5 cups of kidney beans, and then used black beans. I was originally going to add only another 1/2 cup of black beans, but then I changed my whole approach (which I'll get into), so I opted for the whole can (14 oz?). 2. I let this cook a LOT longer than recommened - approx. 2 or more hours. It was very "stew-like" when cooked in the way recommended, which they admitted from the start, but I decided that I really wanted thick chili, not stew. It worked awesome! I think the starch from the beans had a lot to do with that, so keep that in mind. Anyway, my version rocked. I can't vouch for the recipe in its orignial form, except to say that it smelled good from the moment I got it in the pan. One last thing - it's definitiely on the spicy side. My sensitve boyfriend couldn't eat it. I like spice, and I could, but my nose did run a bit. Modify the chili powder as you see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States