Chili-Flavored Turkey Stew With Hominy and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
YUM! I really really like this! However, I made a few SUBSTANTIAL changes: I added beans instead of hominy. Hominy doesn't exist in the Northeast - at least that I could find - so I used beans. I used two approx. 1.5 cups of kidney beans, and then used black beans. I was originally going to add only another 1/2 cup of black beans, but then I changed my whole approach (which I'll get into), so I opted for the whole can (14 oz?). 2. I let this cook a LOT longer than recommened - approx. 2 or more hours. It was very "stew-like" when cooked in the way recommended, which they admitted from the start, but I decided that I really wanted thick chili, not stew. It worked awesome! I think the starch from the beans had a lot to do with that, so keep that in mind. Anyway, my version rocked. I can't vouch for the recipe in its orignial form, except to say that it smelled good from the moment I got it in the pan. One last thing - it's definitiely on the spicy side. My sensitve boyfriend couldn't eat it. I like spice, and I could, but my nose did run a bit. Modify the chili powder as you see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I REALLY liked this recipe. Hominy can be found in the Hispanic section of our grocery stores and it really makes this dish superb! I added some tabasco for a bit more kick. Family loved it and it was a great way to use those turkey leftovers I had frozen since November! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I live in the Northeast and have never had a problem finding hominy. I always find it in the canned vegetable section, near the corn. I love this recipe. I used chicken instead of turkey (that's what I had on hand). So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is the frickin bomb! I used green onions instead, a 1 small yellow bell pepper, 4 cups of chicken broth, doubled the hominy, and omitted the salt and pepper. I am a salty girl and I can honestly say adding it at the end would have been too much, even for me. It was spicy enough, too, so no pepper either. I followed the cooking directions to a "t". Dude, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I used only 2 tablespoons of chili powder and that was plenty. Can use additional cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leftover Les
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Great recipe. A good switch for right after Thanksgiving: Leftover turkey with a "kick". I added a little Tabasco to the recipe for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leftover Les

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawnside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dayton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
No hominy in the north?! What a terrible situation! Although we have plenty of hominy here in Texas, I had a can of creamed corn on hand and didn't feel like going to the store. It worked great! Also, I added a little bit of Cumin which gave it more of a smokey chili flavor. If you really like heat drop a whole pickeled jalapeno in the stew while it simmers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I used ground turkey and added a can of pinto beans. My family likes it hot, so I added a small can of diced roasted chiles. All in all, a nice, healthy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great Turkey leftovers recipe. I would suggest a little more hominy and a little less chili powder. I spiced it up by substituting hot Rotel for the diced tomatoes. Try it served in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
All the time I was cooking this, I thought I was going to hate it. I don't care for tomatoe based soups and I don't like peppers. I tasted it while the tomatoes were simmering and thought it was terrible. But when I added the turkey and cilantro, there was a magic transformation. Suddenly it was delicious. I will make this many times. I used smoked turkey because it was what I had, and I think that made it better. I was skeptical about the amount of chili, but it was not too much at all. This is an excellent recipe that I will pass on to others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States