Chili-Flavored Turkey Stew With Hominy and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
my girlfriend loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
All the time I was cooking this, I thought I was going to hate it. I don't care for tomatoe based soups and I don't like peppers. I tasted it while the tomatoes were simmering and thought it was terrible. But when I added the turkey and cilantro, there was a magic transformation. Suddenly it was delicious. I will make this many times. I used smoked turkey because it was what I had, and I think that made it better. I was skeptical about the amount of chili, but it was not too much at all. This is an excellent recipe that I will pass on to others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great Turkey leftovers recipe. I would suggest a little more hominy and a little less chili powder. I spiced it up by substituting hot Rotel for the diced tomatoes. Try it served in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I used ground turkey and added a can of pinto beans. My family likes it hot, so I added a small can of diced roasted chiles. All in all, a nice, healthy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
No hominy in the north?! What a terrible situation! Although we have plenty of hominy here in Texas, I had a can of creamed corn on hand and didn't feel like going to the store. It worked great! Also, I added a little bit of Cumin which gave it more of a smokey chili flavor. If you really like heat drop a whole pickeled jalapeno in the stew while it simmers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leftover Les
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Great recipe. A good switch for right after Thanksgiving: Leftover turkey with a "kick". I added a little Tabasco to the recipe for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leftover Les

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawnside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dayton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I used only 2 tablespoons of chili powder and that was plenty. Can use additional cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is the frickin bomb! I used green onions instead, a 1 small yellow bell pepper, 4 cups of chicken broth, doubled the hominy, and omitted the salt and pepper. I am a salty girl and I can honestly say adding it at the end would have been too much, even for me. It was spicy enough, too, so no pepper either. I followed the cooking directions to a "t". Dude, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I live in the Northeast and have never had a problem finding hominy. I always find it in the canned vegetable section, near the corn. I love this recipe. I used chicken instead of turkey (that's what I had on hand). So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I REALLY liked this recipe. Hominy can be found in the Hispanic section of our grocery stores and it really makes this dish superb! I added some tabasco for a bit more kick. Family loved it and it was a great way to use those turkey leftovers I had frozen since November! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States