Chili Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We were kind of disappointed with this recipe. I didn't think it had hardly any flavor and I even accidently doubled the chili powder. Glad I did because otherwise I think it would have been pretty tasteless. I'm thinking that maybe it would help the flavor if the spices and seasonings were added to the ground beef as it cooks instead of cooking the beef by itself and then adding the spices. Maybe I will try it again, maybe not, but if I do I will definitely add more spices. I thought the consistancy was a little off too because of the cornstarch. It just needs a lot of tweeking in order for it to be a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
NICE AND QUICK CHANGE TO A CHILI DOG, THE YOUNGINS LOVED IT, I ADDED A LITTLE TO MUCH CHILI POWDER LOL, BUT WAS GOOD, WOULD LIKE TO TRY IT AS A SLOPPY JOE, THANKS FOR SHARING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Texas, USA
Living In: Bruni, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is an excellent recipe I only suggest less water it came out a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
used as a reference for making chili for a school function
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I had to double up on everything but I would REALLY recommend to add some tomatoe paste....just enough to how you would like your chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe was ok. I added 1/2 can beans and put some shredded cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I found this recipe really lacking in flavor until I spiced it up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
At first, I was not sure I was going to like this at all. but with a little help, I made it more to my liking. When it was initially "finished," I did not like the consistency of the sauce (bc of the cornstarch), so I added about 1/2 cup more water, a few squirts of mustard and probably 1/3 cup of ketchup. I also added more chili powder and simmered the sauce for about 30 minutes. The meat had no flavor after only 10 minutes. I am from WV and this is not what I am used to, but I made it work. I also added cole slaw and onions to my hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLIVIAC15163

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugheston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States