Chili Dog Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
We found this dish one to pass on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
HOw easy was this! I used the large can of Hormel Chili with no beans on the bottom and a small can to cover the dogs on top. Cut up some onions. I did warm up the hot dogs some in the microwave along with the torillas just so it wouldn't take 30 min in the over. Super easy and family thought it was good...and that was it. Will be making again and easy things to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was by far the worst recipe I have ever tried and I have never given a poor rating before. My husband and son both said to never make this again and they are not picky eaters. I didn't adjust anything except added an extra can of chili as others suggested. Will NEVER make this tasteless meal again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I came across this recipe several months ago and couldn't decide whether or not to make it. I couldn't understand why hot dogs rolled up in a tortilla with some chili would be rated so high. Well, I finally made it and it was wonderful!!! I boiled my hot dogs first and heated up the chili in the microwave to speed things up. Also I put a little mustard inside the tortilla before rolling it. I sprinkled some chopped pickles on the top just before serving. I still don't know why this was so good, but it was!! I can't wait to make this with some of my own left over chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I just made this tonight. After some skepticism, I was pleasantly surprised! My 6 year old loved it, even though the chili I used was a little too spicy for her mouth. My 2 year old ate the hot dog and some of the chili, which for him, is HUGE! I did cook the dogs before hand so they were hot when I rolled tortillas. I added cheese and mustard into tortillas before rolling. This recipe is affected by the quality and taste of the chili used. This would be even better if you used your own home made chili, which I plan on doing the next time we have left over chili! Thanks for this new addition to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I had high hopes for this one--a quick and easy TexMex experience. However, while it was alright it was disappointing. Not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I make this 2 or 3 times a year and it's comfort food that is so easy to tweak to your own personal taste. I'm fussy about hot dogs and use only Farmer John or Kosher hot dogs. When wrapping the dogs I add some mustard to the tortilla, some chopped onion and some coarsely chopped olives. The chili for both the bottom and top gets some chopped fresh serranos for some added bite. Also when cooking for 2 and you don't want left overs it's easy to halve this recipe and use a smaller baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoseH
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Tried this for lunch today and loved every bite! I did add some onions and sliced olives for some added color. Needed to use up some leftover lavash and used this instead of a flour tortilla. Could not tell the diffference in texture and the lavash held up very well. Was not soggy or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My kids will tell me with new recipes, "It's a keeper." Not this time. What I got was, "Why didn't you just make chili-dogs?" Simple, yes. Quick, yes. Make it again, no. The tortillas added nothing, and as the kids said--it's a chili-dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
good reciep but a little bland try putting mustard,relish and onions or your favorite chili dog recipe toppings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States