Chili Dog Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have never commented on a recipe before, but had to on this one. I was GREAT!!!! I always do new recipes exact, then make up my mind if I need to tweak it. We only eat Ball Park Plumpers. I am going to go stock up on canned chili with beans, because I know my husband is going to want this often and it is such a quick easy meal to do. I will add oinions next time but don't know if I will put them on top before the cheese or in the tortillas, maybe I will do half and half. Love it thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
omg! when i saw this i knew my hubby would love it and he did. we all did. nathans hot dogs and saags chili and extra cheese and fresh onion on top when it came out. i cant believe the negative comments about it being so unhealthy...if you want healthy dont open a recipe called "chili dog casserole" ha ha it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this exactly as shown here and it turned out great. Real stick-to-your-ribs comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The only thing I did differently was to use two 25 ounce cans of chili with beans and it was loved by everybody. I considered adding cheese inside the tortilla wraps as others had suggested, but instead I opted to sprinkle a good amount of the cheese over the first bed of chili. I loved the ease of preparation and wanted to keep it that way. This is the easiest meal ever and yummy, too. Serve this with a nice salad and your meal is complete. Thank you so much for submitting this wonderful recipe. My family already can't wait for me to make this again. It was truly loved by all ages - four generations just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
What a hit! So easy for a single Dad. did not have enough chili so I added a can of corn with peppers. Was really good. Do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Too much chili. I ended up making some french fries so I could use up the extra chili we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
There's this unbelievably low glycemic index food called chana dal. buy it at an indian grocer. I'm going to make it with chana dal instead of beans. I will make the dal into chilli first, the fastest way by FAR is in a pressure cooker!!!!! I'm going to leave out the tortillas to save around 100 cal. per person, otherwise, yum. I'm going to use fat free hot dogs and 75% less fat cheddar which a brand called cabot makes, thanks maxine, I hope my changes don't offend you. CHEOAH, I LOVE hotdogs too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was good, but not fantastic. You really need to buy a high quality hot dog for this and I didn't have any on hand. I have 2 teenaged boys - 1 loved it, the other really didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
OMG...this is soooooooo good! I made it exactly as the recipe said, but added one more can of chili. Next time, I will make it with homemade chili and add some onions. This casserole is amazing! i disagree with the review telling you to cook the hot dogs ahead of time. It is not necessary! Just leave it in the oven a few more minutes, duh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My husband and oldest son (17) ate it and said it was OK. I know them..if it were really good they would have said so. What is so puzzling is that my youngest son (9) ate three helpings! And he can be the pickiest of eaters. Perhaps he just liked the hot dog weiners in it. I took the suggestion of others to avoid the refrigerated taste of the hot dog weiner and grilled them first. Although that helped I probably won't be making this again unless I have some heavy eaters over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnaff9093

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States