Chili Dog Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
TO PERFECT THIS RECIPE: This one has a lot of potential. When I told my picky husband that we were having a hot dog casserole, he made gagging motions. Who would have thought this was decent. A BIG...HUGE... thing that I'd change for next time was cooking the hotdogs PRIOR to putting it in the oven. ...unless of course you like that straight out of the fridge taste, which most people don't. I put it in for the set amount of time and even cooked HALF the amount, and the hot dogs were still not cooked. We had to put them in the microwave. There's always using your favorite sausage link or my favorite andouille sausage instead. Also, even after halving the recipe, we thought it needed more chili. We've used homemade chili too. Don't be afraid to add that cheese too and being creative and adding things like onions, etc. It won't be gooey (a worry I had). We also put the tortillas on the stove to cook them a little before baking. Will do it again with these corrections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Where has this recipe been all my life??? Absolutely wonderful! I used fat free doggies, added onion, cheese, and mustard inside the fat-free tortilla and used homemade chili instead of canned. My, my, my....what wonderful comfort food! Thank you Maxine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I make ours with the chili without beans and add crushed corn chips on top. Great addition to a football party which kids will be attending. The adults will try and like too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySohalski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Comfort food in a different arrangement. Too much fat in original recipe, so I used 99% fat free Vegetarian chili, 2% Sharp Cheddar cheese, and fat free white smoked Turkey hot dogs. Then per other suggestions, put diced onions inside flour tortillas with the dog. This all added up to a tasty dinner the roommate said would be worthy of having again. After decreasing the fat by a ton, the only drawback is the enormous sodium content of the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is a keeper at my house. I did change it a bit tho. I added chopped onions between the chili and cheese layers and used shredded velveeta. My husband LOVED this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Nothing extravagant here, but for the effort it requires and the fact that it seems to please everyone's taste for parties and sporting events I find it worthy of a five. Cheap, quick and tasty. I cook my hot dogs first, go with 1 can of bean and 1 can of no-bean chili, which I combine and warm, add about a quarter cup of ketchup to the mix to make the chili go a litte further and put some cheese and a tad of the chili inside of each tortilla. Great recipe - Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vail, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This is a really quick and simple, yet delicious recipe that my whole family loved! I added crushed fritos on top for a little added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Great recipe. It's one that all the members of my family like. From my husband to my children - it has already become a family favorite. Psst - dad and kids try to beat each other out for the leftovers - yea, it's that good. Just add a little more chili - not too much. Use the 19 oz cans instead. Perfect amount. If you want it healthier, as some suggested make your own chili and you can also use all natural turkey hot dogs like I do. By using a good quality canned chili it's a dinner that can be on the table in 30 mins with little effort. My favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I know that this sounds weird but hotdogs are my favorite food! So when I saw this recipe I had to try it out. I made this today for lunch and this recipe is great! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe was great! At first glance I thought it sounded so wierd, but I know how looks can be deceiving! The only thing I changed was I used 2 bags of cheese- one to fill all the tortillas, and the other to top it off. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States