Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
My entire family loved this recipe. I did make just a few changes though. Instead of cutting up the buns, I just opened them flat and layed them crust side up. I put the hot dogs in and then a layer of cheese over those. Then the chili and some more cheese. My buns didn't get to soggy at all, as a matter of fact, the bottom was just a little crispy and it was fantastic. Maybe because the crust was facing up, or the layer of cheese between the hot dogs and the chili? I did use two cans of chili though.This tastes just like it should and I will be making this for a long time to come. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Delicious & fun dinner idea! My husband and I really enjoyed this. My children (11 & 5 yrs.) had mixed reviews. They ate it, but their biggest criticism was the bread. I guess they're purists (hot dogs ON buns, not the other way around, etc.). I did use Hormel's low-fat Turkey Chili, and found that two cans would have been better than the one that I used. Next time, instead of hot dog buns, I think I'll try using a prepared cornbread stuffing mix which would be crispier than the cut-up buns (although, I did lightly butter and toast them before adding the rest of the ingredients, but they still absorbed too much moisture from the chili than my kids liked). Thanks for the idea, and I will be making this again. UPDATE ON 6/28/06: WE HAVE TWEAKED THIS CHILI DOG CASSEROLE TO EVERYONE'S LIKING...LAYERED IN THIS ORDER: 2 OR 3 CANS OF HORMEL TURKEY CHILI W/O BEANS; 1 PACKAGE OF LOW FAT OR FAT FREE BEEF FRANKS CUT UP, DICED ONIONS, 1/2 PACKAGE LOW FAT SHREDDED CHEDDAR/MONTERAY JACK; 2 PREPARED PACKAGES OF JIFFY CORNBREAD MUFFIN BATTER SPREAD ON TOP, THEN FINISH W/ REMAINING CHEESE AND BAKE. EVERYONE LOVES THIS, AND I THANK YOU FOR INSPIRING ME! GREAT RECIPE IDEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I used whole wheat buns, kosher dogs, two cups of the Big Game Day Chili that I made the day before and used a 2% sharp cheddar. I didn't have any of it but my boys got a kick out of it. They loved that it was a new way to eat chili dogs. NOTE: This was so cheap to make that it should be illegal. I bought the hot dog buns off the clearance rack and everything else I already had on hand. Great for families who are stretching their food budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
Very easy. We doubled the amount of chili on it, but we like 'em sloppy. Another trick to avoid soggy hot dog buns is to pop it under the broiler to quickly toast the buns before adding the chili and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This was a real family pleaser.It was very easy to make.I used fritos in place of hotdog buns and 2 cans of chili per the suggestion of other reviewers.It would be very good for a Monday or Friday night supper.I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was good. My 17 month old ate it without blinking. I put my buns in the oven when I turned it one to preheat. By the time the oven was hot, my buns were toasted perfectly. I only made 1/2 a recipe. I didn't think there was enough chili though and ended up using 2 10 oz cans of Hot Dog Chili. It tasted pretty just like you would expect. Next time I may preheat my chili though. I found some of the center of my casserole didn't get very hot. I also didn't think the buns got any soggier than if I was making a regular chili dog. I will keep this recipe in mind for nights I need a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
My kids love this dish so much, I promised them I would serve it at my wedding. Needless to say, it was a big hit! I even attached the recipe to the thank you cards so everyone could enjoy it at home. I enhanced the recipe by also adding crumbled corn chips on the top. I have only two words for this recipe, mmm mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This was sooooo good! Changes I made: 2 cans 99% fat free Wolf brand turkey chili, fat free turkey dogs, 2% cheddar cheese, and I only used 6 of the hotdog buns (ran out of room). Great low fat version. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great for a quick meal that's easy to put together. Does it show off expert cunlinary skills? Um, no. Is it a heart healthy meal? Definitely not. But after a long work day and late arrival home, I needed something I could get in the oven in minutes. My family ate it, and oldest DD proclaimed "I really like this!" I chopped up a whole package of hot dogs, tore up 6 buns, used 3 cans of chili and no onions (didn't feel like messing with it). I didn't measure the mustard, just squirted it on and then topped everything with the cheese. It baked for about 1/2 hour and was ready to eat! Definitely will be using this recipe again. Want to try it with leftover homemeade chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States