Chili Dog Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made this today and the kids loved it. I tweaked it a little bit. I sautéed hot dogs in a skillet until browned and added diced onion to hot dogs and sautéed a little longer. I doubled the chili as well. I served ketchup,mustard, sour cream and diced pickles on the side for toppings of choice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is a really good kid-friendly recipe. If you use whole grain buns, low-fat cheese, low-fat chili it also can be pretty healthy. Thanks! And it's easy to make - always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was good, and a nice way to change up coneys. To cut calories, I used only 5 buns, 97% fat free hot dogs, and only 1 cup of cheese. All mixed together, you really couldn't tell that I used lighter ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I thought that this was really good. My husband wasn't all that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for a 4th of July party and everyone loved it - to my surprise. I tore up the buns into bite sized pieces so that people didn't have to worry about cutting at all - also browned them a bit before putting hotdogs on top (on broil.) I added the mustard and it really added a nice tang. Instead of putting onions in (which I'll do next time) I served diced red onions for people to sprinkle on top. Will definitely make again - serves a lot of people and VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I love this recipe and it is often on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I've made this casserole 5-6 times now and my fiance and I love it. The mustard really makes this dish. It's perfect for sports get-togethers or just a night when you don't feel like cooking anything extravagant. It couldn't be much easier! Only thing I recommend is toasting the hot dog buns before layering them in the dish--helps them hold up a bit better after the chili covers them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I was VERY surprised but this was really, really good. My husband agreed. The only change I made was turning the whole buns crust side up and toasting them a bit before I put the chili mixture on top. I used Castleberry hotdog chili which isn't too great on its own but in this recipes was good. I left off the mustard because I was skeptical but ended up adding it before serving...it really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
pretty good for a quick meal!! made with tater tots. I made less, 4 buns and 5 beef hot dogs, chili, onions and cheese, no mustard. I was worried about the buns being soggy, but they were fine. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcumom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
i made this out of desperation one night and now my husband won't stop obsessing. since it has zero redeeming nutritional qualities i make it only once in awhile. i use half the amount of buns, dogs but entire can of chili - otherwise not enough chili to cover the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States