Chili Cumin Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
With a few personal changes, I thought that this was one of the best stuffed chicken dishes I have ever tasted. First, I would suggest doubling the stuffing per the number of chicken breasts you are making (if you are making 2 breasts, follow the recipe as is.) I also doubled the tomato, added 1/4 cup red onion, 1/4 cup of diced green chiles, and a 1/2 teaspoon of red chile flakes. To make the chicken extra moist, I glazed the stuffed chickens with a little store-bought taco sauce. Finally, eat the chicken over a little spanish rice and you will be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Just wonderful! I did make a few changes however. As some suggested, I added garlic and red pepper flakes, used the measurements as listed for only 2 chicken breasts and served over rice. In addition, I used chunky salsa instead of the diced tomatoes just because that's what I had on hand and I added lime juice to the crockpot (I didn't think that there was enough liquid to cook the chicken - didn't want to chance burning it). The 'juices ' were great on the rice. Very flavorful! It was the best crockpot recipe I have made thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
It was my Sunday to cook and we all know I love Mexican. This looked like a quick and easy recipe and I was making a more complicated appetizer, so I thought I'd try this. Also, been meaning to break out the crock pot now that the snow's here. Doubled the recipe EXCEPT for the cilantro. Added some red pepper flakes and used canned diced toms with jalapenos for a little extra zip (we like it spicy!). I had some trouble rolling the breasts (first time I've done it) but the thin cutlets definitely helped. Wasn't sure if I liked the looks of it when it was cooking, but it tasted great and we enjoyed it served over brown rice. It needs something else... I may throw in some fresh garlic next time or maybe chop up some onions. Also, I think I want to put the mixture through the food processor. I think making the filling into the paste may add in the preparation. Thanks for the recipe -- definitely a great Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I thought this was a very simple, and very good recipe. I made a couple of changes - #1 - I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and it was done in about 2 hours, not 3. #2 - Since I was in a hurry, I did not make rolls of them, but instead laid the chicken on the bottom of the crockpot and then poured everything on top and just let it cook that way. I didn't give it a 5 because, for me it could have used a bit of a punch, maybe some pepper flakes or something else to spice it up a bit. Overall, very simple, very quick and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My husband liked this recipe a lot more than I did. It was good, although it was done cooking in about 2 hrs instead of 3. I followed the recipe exactly, then added some extra cheese in the last 10 minutes. Served it with homemade salsa and chips. One change I will make next time is less cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very good, very flavorful. I've been looking for a low calorie recipe that was full of flavor and this is it. Like others, I added red onion and jalapeno. I also added just another pinch of the spices. I don't use the slow cooker so I just cooked it in a covered baking dish for 40 min at 350 degrees. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Ok, I am by no means a seasoned chef so perhaps our tragedy was in my lack of experience- not the recipe itself. Obviously then I found this recipe to be a little difficult to follow. (I have just been married 3 months and this was our first burnt meal.) Good luck to anyone else who tries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Not sure why, but the cheese seemed to vanish by the time this was cooked. THere was plenty of juice, but not really a sauce. I really love sauce, so I missed that there wasn't any, and of course, think that it would have tasted better if the cheese would have become more saucelike. Otherwise, good, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esiuolm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
With a few personal changes, I thought that this was one of the best stuffed chicken dishes I have ever tasted. First, I would suggest doubling the stuffing per the number of chicken breasts you are making (if you are making 2 breasts, follow the recipe as is.) I also doubled the tomato, added 1/4 cup red onion, 1/4 cup of diced green chiles, and a 1/2 teaspoon of red chile flakes. To make the chicken extra moist, I glazed the stuffed chickens with a little store-bought taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Really good. I love cumin so I tried this as soon as I had read it. I cut back on the tomato and added some green chilis (my preference) Topped w/a little extra cheese. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States