Chili con Queso with Chicken (Similar to Carlos O'Kelly's) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was an excellent dip. The only thing that I did differently was add more onions and additional salsa to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
OMG - this was so good. My family just sat around the table dipping Tostito chips in. Yum! I did not shred the chicken, just cut it into really small chunks and cooked it first in the frying pan, then added the rest of the ingredients as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALEPRICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was fantastic!!! My children love Carlos O'Kelly's queso so this was a HUGE hit! I omitted the chicken and substituted a can of drained rotel tomatoes for the diced tomato and green chilies because that's what I had on hand. Will try the recipe as written next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was very good. I did change it a little though. Used 1/2 cup of chopped onion. Sorry, a tablespoon just isn't worth it and you won't get any flavor out of it. I also used an entire small can of chopped chilies. I took this to book club and it was the first dish completely gone! Served it with the scoop Fritos. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was excellent. I left out the chicken as I didn't have any but it was still very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I loved this recipe! My husband thought it needed a little bit more heat and less chicken, so next time I will use medium or hot chiles and a little less chicken. Thanks for a great recipe that will be used often at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I totally agree about the onion. My original submission had close to 1/2 cup of onion, but somehow it got lost between there and posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
OH MY this was so good! This IS the Ultimate Cheese Dip. I love the addition of chicken in this. It was great served on the side and dipping chips in. But I bet it would be so good poured over chips to make some nachos or as a base for taco salad. Next time I may add in a block of cream cheese just to see how much richer and creamier I can get it. Thanks for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Love this recipe, but with changes. I used about 10 oz of cooked chorizo instead of chicken and, like others, 1/2 cup of onion and the whole can of the chilis. I also used a spicier salsa. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was good. I did not put the chicken in it. Left it as more of the queso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States