Chili con Queso with Chicken (Similar to Carlos O'Kelly's) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
OMG - this was so good. My family just sat around the table dipping Tostito chips in. Yum! I did not shred the chicken, just cut it into really small chunks and cooked it first in the frying pan, then added the rest of the ingredients as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALEPRICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was fantastic!!! My children love Carlos O'Kelly's queso so this was a HUGE hit! I omitted the chicken and substituted a can of drained rotel tomatoes for the diced tomato and green chilies because that's what I had on hand. Will try the recipe as written next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was very good. I did change it a little though. Used 1/2 cup of chopped onion. Sorry, a tablespoon just isn't worth it and you won't get any flavor out of it. I also used an entire small can of chopped chilies. I took this to book club and it was the first dish completely gone! Served it with the scoop Fritos. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good queso, but it may as well have been the basic Rotel variety. Processed cheese is processed cheese, no matter how you dip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was excellent. I left out the chicken as I didn't have any but it was still very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Easy and good! Made this Sunday for the Giants game and it was well received. Would definitely make again. One guest asked to take the remainders home which I sent in a tupperware...she loved it that much that she wanted it for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Vilsack Brennan
Living In: Vauxhall, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was an excellent dip. The only thing that I did differently was add more onions and additional salsa to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I loved this recipe! My husband thought it needed a little bit more heat and less chicken, so next time I will use medium or hot chiles and a little less chicken. Thanks for a great recipe that will be used often at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I totally agree about the onion. My original submission had close to 1/2 cup of onion, but somehow it got lost between there and posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was really good Queso, but I did add more onion than called for and next time I think I will try decreasing the amount of sour cream, as it seemed to be too predominant for our tastes. We also did not add the chicken although I think that would be a great addition. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe, Patty2007!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States