Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Thanks, it was easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
A great chili recipe! We tried it 2 weeks ago and just made a double batch today. Yum! I did find that it was a bit too cinnamony, so when I doubled the ecipe, I only used 3 cinnamon sticks instead of 4. That did it. Also, to add some more heat I added 2 jalepeno peppers and 1 additional chili pepper in the double batch. A nice burn, but not screaming hot. Not so hot that you need a cold glass of water nearby, but a nice smooth heat that you notice. A few extra shakes of cumin and chili powder as well as doubling the garlic made this the best chili I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I absolutely loved this recipe! The cinnamon really added a twist. The only thing I did differently was drained most of the grease after browning the meat (with the oil, onions, garlic and peppers), and then added the rest of the ingredients. But overall it was easy to prepare, and did freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Don't need all the other spices. Cumin and Chilli Powder is important! For my serving (4 pax) would be better with 1.5 cans of tomato and cook only for 45mins no more. Fantastic served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I use this recipe for Chili every family gathering and its a winner. My kids are always asking for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I am not a fan of chili, but my hubby wanted to make some with venison (which I not too fond of either!) so I chose this recipe and it was DELICIOUS!!! The best chili I have ever had. I am now a fan of it! I did add a green pepper and a hot banana pepper..very good! We couldn't get enough of it. Thank you for a recipe that I will continue to use...and now I will enjoy the deer as much as my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Wonderful! Tastes just like the chili served at community chili dinners when I was a child in south Texas. My Yankee husband thought it was nuts that we served chili over rice; now he loves it! I added jalapenos and used ground cloves in place of whole cloves. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
MIld enough for the kids--flavorful enough for the chili-loving dad! It was easy and tasty. I cut the oil to 2 T , used a non-stick pot, and used only one cinnamon stick as suggested in one of the reviews. Perfect! I had only one can of tomatoes in the pantry, so I improvised with some ketchup, veggie bullion and sun-dried tomatoes--this batch was nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Thanks Fay! This has an awesome taste. I'm a carnivore and love spicy food. My wife is the opposite but we both loved this dish. I heeded the advice of other and only used 1 cinnamon stick, which was just right. I also drained the beef after browning, and picked out the cloves before serving since they have a weird texture. We will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was easy and my family LOVED it! My Mom said it was the best chili she ever had. She rates it a 7 star. I added a little extra chili powder to make it spicier and I left out the cloves only because I couldn't find them in the grocery store. Serve with grated cheese, scallions and tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States