Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
"googled" for "best chile recipe" and came up with this one. Cooked double batch of it for 18 folks last night; everybody raved and about half wanted the recipe. Altered it slightly by adding an extra pound of beef, 3 tbs of ground cinnamon in addition to sticks, 1 additional tblsp each of salt, pepper & chili powder. This is NOW my chili recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made this for my husband and he loved it. He wasn't so sure about the cloves and cinnamon. I had to add a little spice to balance out the clove taste and then her raved about it. So if you think the cloves and cinnamon are too much I suggest spicing it up since chili powder really varies in heat it is impossible to say this recipe isn't spicy enough or flavorful enough--it is your chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is an easy-anytime recipe - I just love it!!! Personally I do not like the cinnamon and cloves taste, so I usually do not add them to this recipe and it still tastes amazing. To make this recipe into my personal taste, I add some green bell peppers finely chopped and some parsley as well; to give an extra spicy flavor, I do not rinse the beans (in cayenne and cumin sauce). And finally I always prefer to use fresh ingredients than the dried ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I don't make chili that often, but I will now. This really is a robust and delicious chili recipe with a very nice consistency (I love a thicker chili). I did omit the cloves and used less cinnamon. I used a jalapeno and it rednered what I would call a very mild chili, all good because I have kids. It's delicious regardless but if you like some heat to your chili, you may want to add an extra chili pepper or perhaps add it closer to the end of cooking time. This will be the chili recipe for my family. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Yum! I am done looking for chili recipes! My entire family loved it. The level of spiciness was kid friendly, but still enough to be very tasty. The cloves really added a nice grown up flavor. I used chili beans instead of kidney beans. I also poured in about 1/3 c. strong black coffee - an impulse decision - gave it a bit of a smoky, dark flavor. I can see where this would be an excellent recipe to experiment with. I will definitely will be sharing this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I was looking for a homemade chili recipe to complete another recipe-Cornbread Topped Chili. I halved the recipe with a few changes to use what I had on hand. Used powdered cinnamon,chopped fresh tomatoes (6 small) and a can of tomatoes with green chilis and used one fresh jalepeno pepper. Then I used two boxes of corn bread mix and poured the batter over the chili and cooked for 25 minutes until golden brown.It came out great.This was cooked in an oven-proof skillet. The cinnamon seemed to compliment the sweetness of the cornbread which was a nice contrast to the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a nice, mild recipe for chili. I added some corn and two jalapenos for the chilis. My only complaint is that the cinnamon flavor is very strong. Next time I will only use one stick of cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a few years. My family and friends always rave about the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Liked this a lot. Easy to make. I think it could have been a bit spicier though. Next time ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was made to use on hot dogs & it worked well because it was thick and not very spicy. Next time (for use on hotdogs) I will omit the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States