Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I love chili and am always up to try some. Like the other reviewers, the cinnamon and cloves were a little worrisome. I added them, but probably 1/2 of the recommended amount. I think they key is to give it time to cook through with the rest of the spices. The combination ended up being great. Good flavor (although not very spicy). Next time will probably add a little more of a kick, but worked well, is versatile, and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was my first venture into making chili and it came out very well! I was light handed with the paprika because i figured I could always add more. The cinnamon really adds a special flavor to it. I did halve the cloves because my bf hates them :) We made a TON and we are looking forward to freezing and reheating it for the next few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I think I put the kidney beans in to early and it kind of got a burnt taste on it. Before I did that it tasted yummy - will try again and hold off with the kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
this was lovely, i did not add cloves or cinnamon.added extra tomotoe sauce and used veggie mince.lovely with salad and grated cheese on top.i also added cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Really enjoyed this chili, was very good. I did however add a teaspoon of sugar and i didn't add as much oil. That was way to much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is wonderful! I never made chili before and this definetly gave me that homemade chili satisfaction I was craving. I cut the recipe in half (just my husband and I) and added two peppers for some nice heat! A personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdodrill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
i loved this recipe did'nt change a thing.Great as is thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Great with a few modifications that I thought would be helpful. DID NOT use cinnamon or cloves...didn't like the sound of that but used this recipe as a starting point. I did 2lbs ground beef, one onion, one green pepper, 4 cloves garlic, 1 can red kidney beans, 1 can whole tomatoes, cumin, chili powder, paprika, s&p to taste but also added a few red pepper flakes and 1 can tomato paste to thicken. It was awesome - even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great starter. Not enough heat for me, but that is easy with adding more peppers and spices. Great tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Every bite is cinnamon. Cinnamon and tomatoes! So I tried to save this chili - because this wasn't cheap to make. So I threw in some spices - and still the only thing you can taste and smell is CINNAMON. I spent a good hour trying to get rid of the cinnamon - couldn't get rid of it. CINNAMON was always in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States