Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
i just tried this today and i must say this is really good. i've been craving for chili for a week now and this definitely hits the spot. the heat is just right too. i followed everything in the recipe (scaled down to 3 servings).before eating, i topped it with some cheese and tortilla chips and i think it's great! the only problem i had was since i couldn't find canned red kidney beans i used the raw ones. i soaked it for an hour but i didn't know that you were supposed to cook it first before using. i kinda thought since i soaked it already it would cook fine when i add them to the chili. so i ended up with semi raw beans. but since a lot of the reviews said this was better when served the next day, i just microwaved it the next day and the beans turned out ok. maybe another re-heating would make the beans the perfect soggy texture that i want. but overall, this recipe is great in itself. just a question though, what is that white sauce in the picture? cheese sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
i made this recipe yesterday first time i made chili i liked it very much i reduced it down to five servings i can,t wait for a family get together so i can make a big batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I liked it the first time but it seams to miss a little thing... today i tryed it with the zest and juice of 1 Lime now for my taste,it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Don't be put off by those who hate the cinnamon and clove flavors. If you just open your mind to a new taste sensation, they make this chili really delicious. We added a can of refried beans to this. Otherwise, we followed the recipe and loved the result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good. Tastes extremely basic, but in a good way. Great for people who don't like to or don't know how to cook since it's hard to mess up. I cooked this in a crock pot for 4 hours on high and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was very, very good. I had to take out the cinnamon sticks after 15 minutes because it started to smell too much like pie, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe. My husband said it was the best chili he had ever tasted! I did not have cinnamon sticks so used ground and only about 3 tablespoons of oil. I also used canned diced tomatoes (mexican style). I will add more beans next time and cook them myself. This really is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I love chili and am always up to try some. Like the other reviewers, the cinnamon and cloves were a little worrisome. I added them, but probably 1/2 of the recommended amount. I think they key is to give it time to cook through with the rest of the spices. The combination ended up being great. Good flavor (although not very spicy). Next time will probably add a little more of a kick, but worked well, is versatile, and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was my first venture into making chili and it came out very well! I was light handed with the paprika because i figured I could always add more. The cinnamon really adds a special flavor to it. I did halve the cloves because my bf hates them :) We made a TON and we are looking forward to freezing and reheating it for the next few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I think I put the kidney beans in to early and it kind of got a burnt taste on it. Before I did that it tasted yummy - will try again and hold off with the kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila McDonough

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States