Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is by far the best chili my family and I have enjoyed. I followed the recipe exactly except for the cinnamon sticks. My wife doesn't like cinnamon so I substituted them 2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder instead. This is now our family's official chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gooneegoogoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicoutimi, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I make what Shall now bee know as Corey Chili ina large pot. I use 3 or sometimes more depnding on heat jalopenos roughly chopped. I use 50/50 turkey, sirloin .I use 2 28 oz cans tomoatoes. I like them in big chuck . 0.5tbsps more cumindouble the chili powder1/4 tsp cinnamon all the cloves 2 table spoos oregano 1 tablespoon garlic powder.Do not drain or rince your beens put it all in the pot and just use less salt later. This as I'm told constantly is an amazing Chili. I alos serve it with choppd onion and greated cheese .so so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not big on the cinnamon/clove flavor. Still searching for a thick chili recipe...9-2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
i just tried this today and i must say this is really good. i've been craving for chili for a week now and this definitely hits the spot. the heat is just right too. i followed everything in the recipe (scaled down to 3 servings).before eating, i topped it with some cheese and tortilla chips and i think it's great! the only problem i had was since i couldn't find canned red kidney beans i used the raw ones. i soaked it for an hour but i didn't know that you were supposed to cook it first before using. i kinda thought since i soaked it already it would cook fine when i add them to the chili. so i ended up with semi raw beans. but since a lot of the reviews said this was better when served the next day, i just microwaved it the next day and the beans turned out ok. maybe another re-heating would make the beans the perfect soggy texture that i want. but overall, this recipe is great in itself. just a question though, what is that white sauce in the picture? cheese sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
i made this recipe yesterday first time i made chili i liked it very much i reduced it down to five servings i can,t wait for a family get together so i can make a big batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I liked it the first time but it seams to miss a little thing... today i tryed it with the zest and juice of 1 Lime now for my taste,it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Don't be put off by those who hate the cinnamon and clove flavors. If you just open your mind to a new taste sensation, they make this chili really delicious. We added a can of refried beans to this. Otherwise, we followed the recipe and loved the result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good. Tastes extremely basic, but in a good way. Great for people who don't like to or don't know how to cook since it's hard to mess up. I cooked this in a crock pot for 4 hours on high and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was very, very good. I had to take out the cinnamon sticks after 15 minutes because it started to smell too much like pie, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe. My husband said it was the best chili he had ever tasted! I did not have cinnamon sticks so used ground and only about 3 tablespoons of oil. I also used canned diced tomatoes (mexican style). I will add more beans next time and cook them myself. This really is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States