Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Love it, except the cloves get lost in the chili and it's a surprise when you bite down on one. From now on, I'll use 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good chili. I'll use less cumin next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I had everything except the chile pepper and I had to doctor it up as it was very bland. I added more chili powder and still I was disappointed, HOWEVER once my husband and I added alittle cheese, salsa and sour creme in our bowls MAN was it ever delicious! We were surprised how good it tasted! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I added a whole lot more chili powder and paprika, as I thought it wasn't spicy enough, but that's just my taste. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
LOVED this recipe, this was the best chili ever! All the different spices and ingredients made the taste very complex. I usually use just the chili mix packet from the store, but this recipe is a real knockout for me! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was very good. I am not a huge chili lover but I did enjoy this recipe very much, and my partner who loves chili, thought it was the best he'd tasted. I had run out of regular paprika so used smoked parika instead, which added an interesting dimension. I might use it again in this recipe, but reduce the amount slightly as the smokey flavour is quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is by far the best chili my family and I have enjoyed. I followed the recipe exactly except for the cinnamon sticks. My wife doesn't like cinnamon so I substituted them 2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder instead. This is now our family's official chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gooneegoogoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicoutimi, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I make what Shall now bee know as Corey Chili ina large pot. I use 3 or sometimes more depnding on heat jalopenos roughly chopped. I use 50/50 turkey, sirloin .I use 2 28 oz cans tomoatoes. I like them in big chuck . 0.5tbsps more cumindouble the chili powder1/4 tsp cinnamon all the cloves 2 table spoos oregano 1 tablespoon garlic powder.Do not drain or rince your beens put it all in the pot and just use less salt later. This as I'm told constantly is an amazing Chili. I alos serve it with choppd onion and greated cheese .so so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not big on the cinnamon/clove flavor. Still searching for a thick chili recipe...9-2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
i just tried this today and i must say this is really good. i've been craving for chili for a week now and this definitely hits the spot. the heat is just right too. i followed everything in the recipe (scaled down to 3 servings).before eating, i topped it with some cheese and tortilla chips and i think it's great! the only problem i had was since i couldn't find canned red kidney beans i used the raw ones. i soaked it for an hour but i didn't know that you were supposed to cook it first before using. i kinda thought since i soaked it already it would cook fine when i add them to the chili. so i ended up with semi raw beans. but since a lot of the reviews said this was better when served the next day, i just microwaved it the next day and the beans turned out ok. maybe another re-heating would make the beans the perfect soggy texture that i want. but overall, this recipe is great in itself. just a question though, what is that white sauce in the picture? cheese sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States