Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Excellent idea to add clove and cinnamon. I made following modifications: ---added whole cumin to oil before sauteing onions instead of powder. ---used minimum oil like some other reviewers ---used canned crushed tomatoes instead of crushing my own. added 1/3 can paste (left over from something else) for six servings, perhaps a can for the full recipe. ---used whole round (from sale) sliced to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Excellent basic chili recipe. Not too spicy, not too bland. However, it needs more liquid, so I added a can of beer. That worked well. I also tried Vidalia onions. That was wrong. The chili needs onions with more bite. Also found out you don't need to rinse and drain canned beans. Very easy, very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Fantastic recipe easy to follow fool proof and tastes amazing... Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
A wonderful, flexible recipe. Hard to mess up. It reminds me of the chili at Ye Old Ale House in Conshohocken, PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe is excellent, and I used ground turkey! I freeze it in individual portions for quick meals. I like sour cream on it, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
made this in a crockpot (browned the beef first). i added the 5 Tbsp oil, but not sure if that was necessary in a crockpot. also, took the cinnamon sticks out after about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made this last evening and it was great. I used 1/4 tsp chili powder instead of chili pepper, and ground cloves instead whole cloves, and it still tasted great. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I served this to my extended family. We all discussed the rating. We would eat it again if it was served to us, however we wouldn't cook it this way again. The one thing we did like was the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I cooked this in a slow cooker on low for 6hours and it was the best chili i have ever tasted! I did forget to add the cinnamon stick, and I left out cloves as i don't like them, but the recipe was brilliant! don't hesitate to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made chill last night, and it was a hit. My husband loved it, because it wasn’t spicy. I did change the recipe a little; I used black and pinto beans, instead of the red kidney beans. I also left out the chili pepper and cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States