Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I tried this today. I think it's great. But next time I will do away with the cloves because it over powers the taste of the other spices. I added cayenne and a more cumin for that extra strong, hot and spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made this in the crockpot and let it cook on low for about 6 hours. I only used 2 cans of tomatoes and cut the oregano down to 1T. I added the kidney beans in the last hour so they wouldn't get too mushy. Definitely a family pleaser. Thankyou BUBBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I was very nervous about the cinnamon and cloves but it tasted great. Very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a great chili recipe that I will definitely be making again. Like some reviewers suggested, I used only one cinnamon stick but I hardly tasted the cinnamon flavor so two would have probably been ok as well. I used Mexican spices and a poblano chili which I think is important for overall flavor. The only issue I had was my own fault. I used ground chuck and didn’t drain the fat well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Excellent idea to add clove and cinnamon. I made following modifications: ---added whole cumin to oil before sauteing onions instead of powder. ---used minimum oil like some other reviewers ---used canned crushed tomatoes instead of crushing my own. added 1/3 can paste (left over from something else) for six servings, perhaps a can for the full recipe. ---used whole round (from sale) sliced to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Excellent basic chili recipe. Not too spicy, not too bland. However, it needs more liquid, so I added a can of beer. That worked well. I also tried Vidalia onions. That was wrong. The chili needs onions with more bite. Also found out you don't need to rinse and drain canned beans. Very easy, very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Fantastic recipe easy to follow fool proof and tastes amazing... Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
A wonderful, flexible recipe. Hard to mess up. It reminds me of the chili at Ye Old Ale House in Conshohocken, PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe is excellent, and I used ground turkey! I freeze it in individual portions for quick meals. I like sour cream on it, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
made this in a crockpot (browned the beef first). i added the 5 Tbsp oil, but not sure if that was necessary in a crockpot. also, took the cinnamon sticks out after about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States