Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It was ok, not great, but just ok. I think the addition of cinnamon and cloves threw it off. To me that combination was strange. Maybe I'm not too adventurous with my chile con carne, but I really wanted a good traditional recipe and the spices were just off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is fine in terms of spices, variety and amounts. But, the amount of meat is WAY too much if you want to have any sauce or taste the beans. I ended up adding 1 more can of beans, plus two more cans of diced tomatoes (no salt added). I then nearly doubled the spices to account for adding all that extra tomato-y taste. Next time I would make the same recipe and just use 1 pound of meat. This recipe did taste good- I just think it needs tweaking for those of us who like more balanced chili - with plentiful beans and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was the first time that I have made this and it is the best ever the entire family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delores McCarter
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I added a sprinkle of cloves even though I hate them and part of me wished I had left them out, but I'll be a trooper. I like a good tomato sauce as my base, so I added a can of tomato sauce. After browning meat and adding ingredients, I placed the pasta sauce into a crockpot and added the rest of the ingredients and let it all cook together for 90 minutes. I used just one cinnamon stick instead of two (sheesh, they are expensive) The cloves overpowered the aroma but it didn't kill the flavor, thank goodness. Other than the cloves, it was great. (They were quite expensive too and I don't even like those nasty things.) Would be 5 stars without the cloves. Also, I added a small can of pinto beans with the kidney beans for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores McCarter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Not my favorite, could've been me, but I couldn't get this one to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I tried salvaging it, but am unable to figure out how to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have used the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe from Allrecipes for several years, and its amazing. Over time I have adjusted that recipe to my taste. I thought I would try this one and it didn't disappoint. Great recipe! Since I had them on hand, I used dried California Chili pods. I just roasted them with a tablespoon of oil and threw them in my food processor then to the crockpot with the other ingredients. Omitted the fresh chili pepper in lieu of the dried pods. Added a cup of pilsner, an extra onion, and an extra pound of ground beef but outside of that stuck to the original recipe. Darn good chili. Now whether its better than the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe, I will leave that up to individual opinions. Both are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delicious! I used the beans, omitted cinnamon and used cayenne pepper. Served over rice with shredded head lettuce. I think I will give cinnamon a try next time when I cook only for our family. Didn't want to risk as I was cooking for more that 10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States