Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Super yum! I just made this and my husband won't stop trying to sneak more before the Super Bowl. I used one can of kidney beans and one can of chickpeas. I also switched the measurements of chili powder and paprika, making the chili have more chili powder. I also used only 1 stick of cinnamon, reducing as per other users' suggestions and no cloves since I had none on hand. For the three cans of tomatoes, two had jalapenos and one mild chiles. Overall, the consistency and appearance are to die for and will make any chili lover drooling waiting to get some. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good recipe! Go easy on the cloves, though..The first time I made it I used ground instead of whole and it overpowered the chili a bit. A fraction of a pinch will do! I also found that the cinnamon sticks should only sit in the chili for a little while as that can overpower it as well. I make this chili whenever we entertain which is quite a bit and it's always the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I add in an extra can of tomato sauce and a jar of roasted peppers with this chili. The spices are perfect and my whole family loves this chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This chilli was good, but wayy to mild. I think I tripled the amount of chili powder in it. Tasted great after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The taste of this chili was really good but it was a tad dry for our tastes so before leaving it to simmer I also added one 14.5 ounce can of tomato sauce. Not too runny not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Perfect! What more is there to say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is a keeper... very, very good. Didn't have cinamon sticks so added just a bit of ground cinnamon (1/4 -1/2 tsp). Wonderful recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Doubled this recipes for a crowd and everyone loved it. I used one jalapeño pepper instead of two and used one cinnamon stick instead of 4 and omitted the cloves. The chili still had a nice spicy kick to it. I cooked it for about 7 hours and did add about a cup of tomato sauce to thin it out a bit. Served sour cream, cheddar cheese, red pepper flakes and tortilla chips. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Excellent mild chili recipe. I tweaked it for ingredients that I had on hand, omitting the chile pepper, cloves, cinnamon and oil (browning the onions and garlic in the ground beef before draining). I halved the recipe and only had one can of tomatoes so I cut in some fresh tomatoes and added a half teaspoon of sugar to cut down on the acidity. To compensate for leaving out the chile pepper, I added a full tablespoon of chili powder and a quarter teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Because this chili is mild, I can eat more of it, which makes me happy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
everyone enjoyed it :)very nice tasting although not hot at all i added alot more chilli powder to give it a kick... other than that great i will definatley cook again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States