Chili con Carne I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe was very good my son and i loved it.Of course i had to change it for 4 people but i used this recipe as a base .I put kidney beans instead of pinto beans and i didn't use peppers only cumin.it was delicious i would definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good,except I used beef broth instead of straight water,plus I like the use shredded beef (brisket) instead of ground. I had to cook the beans alone as my wife doesn't like pintos (but they are my favorite of all beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ex-Braniff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I used bison meat and with this basic recipe, it cooked up terrificly! I used the calculator to make 4 servings (it is just two of us) and it came out perfectly. My husband loved it, and I liked it because I cannot deal with anything spicy. I did not alter any other ingredients in the recipe, and cooked the beans so that they weren't too smooshie or too hard. I served this chili with a fluffy baked potato and hubby took it to work the next day with the chili on top of the leftover potato. I froze the leftovers and hope that it tastes just as good when it thaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
sounds so much like what I came up with myself. I don't much care for my own which is why I'm trying to find a different one. My tip, don't forget the cumin. It really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Somwehere between 4 and 5. This came out great despite my little cheats here and there. Nothing too different. I just used already prepared ingredients in some cases. For example, canned organic pinto beans and already minced garlic in oil. I also like to use olive oil when browning onions. I added roasted red peppers and used crushed organic tomatoes where anything to do with tomatoes was called for. No tomato paste. Turned out awesome. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made 1/2 the batch. A little bland but with potential. No one in my family of 8 liked it so I had a lot to play with. I doctored it up bowl by bowl until I found the right blend. On the second 1/2 batch I added 6 small cans of sliced mushrooms about 1 cup yellow mustard (be careful with the mustard, just enough to lighten the color a little) and about 1/2 cup worcestershire sauce. I also used 5 onions diced small and canned kidney beans instead of cooking raw beans. Everyone LOVES it this time around! I can't even freeze any because they eat it up so fast! Next time I will make the full batch! This is very quick, CHEAP and easy when using canned beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Reduced size to 10 servings. . Family loved it. I might try adding a can of red chili sauce to it. Definitly a recipe to make on a stay at home day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
The beans turned out really hard...they weren't cooked enough and i followed all the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Recipe was good I added 1 1/2 cup of water before simmering for an hour so would not be thick. Was a little bitter I also added an extra 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes and 1 tbs of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Very good. It turned a little thicker than I like. I might use less tomato paste and more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States