Chili Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is really good stew. As some other reviewers have noted it is a bit bland as written but that was easily fixed with the addition of a little salt and an increase in the chili powder. I had no bell pepper but I did have one baby bok choy which I added, chopped, to the mix along with carrots. I had no frozen veggies so the bok choy, carrots, onions and tomatoes were the extent of the veggies in the stew. I added some rotini (another reviewer's suggestion) and it became a very filling, thick enough, stew. We loved it. I halved the recipe and we still have enough to freeze for another meal. Thank you Corwynn Darkholme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious without adding any other ingredients. Will be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe very much. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers here and doubled the amount of cream of chicken soup and cut by half the broth; additionally, I also added garlic and pepper flakes for additional seasoning. I also added a quarter cup of rice to the pot for additional umph. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
The stew was good but I think it could have been better. Don't get me wrong my family liked it but when I tried to serve left overs everyone declined. I just took it to work for lunch, however, the chili powder was the right touch to give it that special taste. Happy Cooking America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Fabulous recipe and even better topped with tortilla chips. I loved the thicker consistency from the addition of the cream soup. Use any veggies you want and have on hand. YUM. :)))))))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend and I and he couldn't gobble it up fast enough. It was really very delicious...and very easy. I am just a newbie...barely transferring over into the world of cooking and this was great. We dished it over some brown rice. It wasn't as spicy as I thought. Maybe some jalapenos next time. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used two cans of cream of chicken. I can chicken broth. Red and yellow pepper, kidney beans, peas and corn. Very easy. Sprinkled shredded 3 cheese/jalepeno on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I did make some changes, like the others. Used red pepper, two cans of cream of chicken, one can of broth. Also used diced tomatoes w/ green chilies for some flavor, you do need to drain the diced toms, makes stew to watery. Otherwise pretty good dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Mac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this last night for dinner. Like another reviewer, I threw everything in the Crock Pot, then shredded the chicken and threw it back in before serving. This is more a soup than a stew, so I might do like others next time and add more cream soup and less broth if I want a stew. Added cumin, dried cilantro, basil, oregano, and garlic. Also left out the green pepper since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I love this stew. My 10 year old daughter loves it too. My 13 year old son hasn't tried it yet but I know he and my husband will like it . I used 2 cans of cream of chicken like others suggested and 1 can of chicken broth half a can of water and a chicken cube. I used a 10 oz can of rotel and added about 1/4 cup of salsa. This was very delish thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States