Chili Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipes is very good, but I changed it up a little. I cooked my chicken in olive oil and some seasonings. I used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of broth, and for some extra flavoring I used more regular chili powder and a few dashes of hot chili powder because my husband likes a little kick! I used 2 cans of garlic, basil, and oregano flavored tomatoes and only canned green beans and corn for the vegetables. I decided to add rotini pasta as suggested in another review and my family and I decided this made the chili so much better. If you do add the pasta, you will have to add about a cup or two of water. It was delicious and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
EXCELLENT recipe! I turned this soup into a hearty stew by making only a few changes. I did what some reviewers did by browning your cubed chicken with olive oil, lots of garlic, garlic salt, and pepper. Also, I only used one can of chicken broth and added one cup of water. Then during the last 10 minutes of simmering I added half a box of rotini pasta. Turned out perfect and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe is great. In the morning, I throw all the ingredients into my crockpot (chicken and veggies still frozen!) and by the time I get home from work, I've got a delicious stew. I crumble up some tortilla chips in it...my husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I wasn't too sure this would be very flavorful, but gave it a try anyway. YUMMY! I made a few adjustments that I highly recommend if you enjoy a good amount of flavor. I fried the chicken in light fajita seasoning and fresh garlic. I used only green beans and corn. I used regular ro tel. I also fried some fresh garlic with the onions and pepper and used a TBS of chili powder. Even better if you shred some jalepeno jack on top. BOTH my children 5 and 2 ate this!!! THEY ATE ALL THE VEGGIES! Trust me...a must have recipe for any family! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This recipe is so tasty and easy to make. I'm far from a good cook and this stew comes out excellent every time. My aunt is Portuguese (from the old country) and the best cook, she went crazy for this soup! She even asked me for the recipe!! Now that's a first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made this in the crock pot this morning so it would cook for lunch while I was working on some chores. I threw everything in raw--except the chicken which I quickly cooked in the microwave. Any substitutions were made strictly because I was trying to clean out my fridge. For the veggies I used some leftover baby carrots and green beans, I also added some fresh garlic and salt and pepper. I upped the chili powder to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I also threw in a handful of tricolor pasta for the last half hour. This was really really good. I think maybe next time I will add the extra can of cream of chicken that other reviewers used. I really have no complaints. My kids and I have been picking at it all day. This is a must have for your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ravena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
As Mr. Burns from the Simpsons would say, "Exccellenttt!" This stew is fantastic and we truly enjoyed it after a hard day at work. Served it with a loaf of French bread and called it a complete meal. Definitely will make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Soup, stew, who cares? What matters is this soup/stew rocks. My roommate was saying "five stars" after every third bite. I used canned corn and frozen green beans for the veggies, doubled the chili powder, and reduced the chicken broth to 1 can, as per previous reviews. Thank you Corwynn ~ you never disappoint me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was great! The only change I made was no green pepper because I didn't have any and lots of chicken because I had lots of it to use! I took a full crockpot (the large size) to the church potluck and brought home only enough to fill one bowl! Lots of compliments from family and church family! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Definately more a soup than stew. The was awful. I only made it because it had a good rating. My husband took one bite a refused to eat anymore. He has never done that ever. The tomatoes in it gave it a weird flavor. If you still plan on making this after reading this review at least omit the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States