Chili Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is really good stew. As some other reviewers have noted it is a bit bland as written but that was easily fixed with the addition of a little salt and an increase in the chili powder. I had no bell pepper but I did have one baby bok choy which I added, chopped, to the mix along with carrots. I had no frozen veggies so the bok choy, carrots, onions and tomatoes were the extent of the veggies in the stew. I added some rotini (another reviewer's suggestion) and it became a very filling, thick enough, stew. We loved it. I halved the recipe and we still have enough to freeze for another meal. Thank you Corwynn Darkholme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious without adding any other ingredients. Will be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe very much. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers here and doubled the amount of cream of chicken soup and cut by half the broth; additionally, I also added garlic and pepper flakes for additional seasoning. I also added a quarter cup of rice to the pot for additional umph. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
The stew was good but I think it could have been better. Don't get me wrong my family liked it but when I tried to serve left overs everyone declined. I just took it to work for lunch, however, the chili powder was the right touch to give it that special taste. Happy Cooking America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Fabulous recipe and even better topped with tortilla chips. I loved the thicker consistency from the addition of the cream soup. Use any veggies you want and have on hand. YUM. :)))))))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend and I and he couldn't gobble it up fast enough. It was really very delicious...and very easy. I am just a newbie...barely transferring over into the world of cooking and this was great. We dished it over some brown rice. It wasn't as spicy as I thought. Maybe some jalapenos next time. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used two cans of cream of chicken. I can chicken broth. Red and yellow pepper, kidney beans, peas and corn. Very easy. Sprinkled shredded 3 cheese/jalepeno on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I did make some changes, like the others. Used red pepper, two cans of cream of chicken, one can of broth. Also used diced tomatoes w/ green chilies for some flavor, you do need to drain the diced toms, makes stew to watery. Otherwise pretty good dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Mac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this last night for dinner. Like another reviewer, I threw everything in the Crock Pot, then shredded the chicken and threw it back in before serving. This is more a soup than a stew, so I might do like others next time and add more cream soup and less broth if I want a stew. Added cumin, dried cilantro, basil, oregano, and garlic. Also left out the green pepper since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I love this stew. My 10 year old daughter loves it too. My 13 year old son hasn't tried it yet but I know he and my husband will like it . I used 2 cans of cream of chicken like others suggested and 1 can of chicken broth half a can of water and a chicken cube. I used a 10 oz can of rotel and added about 1/4 cup of salsa. This was very delish thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States