Chili Cheese Dog Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
When I looked at this recipe, the first thing I thought was "this needs a cornbread topping". It seemed like it would give more flavor and would resemble a chili corn dog. So, I used a small cornbread mix for the topping (I used Jiffy). The results were great. I recommend doing it that way. It was also easier and quicker. I made it in a 9x9" square baking dish and used Hormel chili. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
In response to the note about the fat content...I changed this recipe to a lower fat recipe by using skim cheese and by using turkey hot dogs and turkey chili...soy products could also be used...it turned out great and cut the fat down a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I made tator tots to go with this and figured next time I will top with tator tots instead of bisquick. I cooked it at a higher temp because I was baking with tots and it still worked fine. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
my kids just loved this. i used pancake mix instead of biscuit mix. it worked just as well. it tasted like any actually chilli cheese dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
The kids enjoyed this & loved the fact that it was way easier to eat than a chili cheese dog. I cut the dough recipe in 1/2, and it wasnt too "doughy". I do see how it would have been undercooked if I had not done that. Don't forget the chopped onions on top! Thanks Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have made this recipe for my children a few times and I REALIZE that it doesn't have the best nutritional values. Kids are kids, and if they want a chili dog, than who are we (as adults) to say "OMG no you can't, it has way too much fat". I mean really, a healthy active child will have no problem burning this off. I agree w/ DREGINEK we aren't being "lazy" giving our kids a treat now & then. Thanks for a good, fattening "TREAT" Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I had some of my chili left over from a previous night and needed a new recipe to use the left overs. This is indeed simple, and delicious. I didn't have any bisquick so I used the "Easy Biscuit Mixture" recipe off this site. A nice change-Thanks Judi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
We didn't care for this at all. The crust was tasteless and took forever to cook. In fact, I am not even sure it ever really did in the middle. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I have made this recipe on a few occassions when I have my own leftover, homemade chili. I don't use nearly as much biscuit dough (1/2 the amt) and I have to bake it for the full 25 min. In fact, MC_MA_OF_3 could have practically written my review on its taste, ease, dough content & onion addition (Go Girl:)). It's a good recipe (although Not gourmet). And as the reviewer before me reminded us all, a meal such as this can easily be countered with good excercise and a healthy lifestyle in general. So unless your following a strict dietary regime, this recipe still makes for a relatively good & quick lunch or dinner. However, I have found that kids seem to enjoy it a little more than the adults (I'm assuming due to their less mature taste buds). Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I am wondering how corn bread would taste instead - so I'll look forward to trying it w/o the hot dogs and w/corn bread... thank you for what sounds like a pretty kid friendly idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States