Chili Cheese Dog Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Everyone liked this meal and it is so easy to make. I cooked the sliced hot dogs for a while before adding in the cans of chili and stirred in the cheese before topping with cornbread. I used a can of Hormel Turkey Chili (which I highly recommend, it greatly reduces the fat content w/o decreasing the flavor) and one can of pinto beans. Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I used a cornbread topping instead of the Bisquick. I also threw in some onions. This was a BIG HIT with the family, they actually came to me and told me to save this recipe!! They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Great easy recipe! Even good the next day! Follow recipe but used turkey chili and turkey franks. Was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe for leftover chili! I topped it with cornbread, however, since my family likes it better with chili, but it was gobbled up quickly tonight! I think I'll print this recipe out and paste it to the back of my chili recipe. The addition of hotdogs was something my children loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The taste was good. I would maybe make it in a bigger dish, so the ingredients get spread out a little more. As is, there almost seemed like there was "too much" of everything! Maybe even cut down on the hot dogs, too. It might help if the ingredients were layered a couple of times, but with the same amounts. BTW, I discovered that two 15 oz. cans of chili (without beans - my husbands hates 'em!) will equal the 3 cups of chili, in case you don't have any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
We really did enjoy this dish! I respect the fact that there is always the option to make the meal as mild or spicy as I wish. The individual amounts of the ingredients were accurate; however, it's possible that some people would choose to use more chili or cheese to fit their tastes. The first time I cooked it, I made the original 4 serving amount. The second time, I used 6 hot dogs and added 3/4 can of light kidney beans because I was serving a family of six. While approximately 5 minutes additional cooking time was needed to brown the crust, it was well worth the wait. Thank you, Judi S.! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was very good. I baked a frozen (thawed) pie shell for 8 mins on 400, scooped in the chili mix as recommended, and topped it with a second (thawed) fozen pie shell. Cooked it at the called for temp. until the top crust was done. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I decided to make cut out biscuits from homemade biscuit dough and place these on top of the chili-dog mixture. This turned out very nicely, the dough was cooked within the stated time. My chili did turn out a little soupy. However, my children and husband absolutely loved this recipe! I will try it with a cornbread topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Mine was kind of soupy and I did everything according to the recipe But it was a crowd pleaser and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This was just okay. I made this for a potluck and didn't adjust the cooking time at all. To my horror, the middle was still doughy when people were scooping it on to their plates! It definitely needed to be baked for longer than the recipe called for. The ingredients tasted okay, but it wasn't spectacular. I won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTCHN6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States