Chili Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a hit for my husband and me. I did make a couple changes: I mixed the cheese in with the chili mixture before putting it in the casserole dish. Then I mixed up a package of Jiffy corn bread mix and put it on top instead of using tortillas. This turned out really well. I did put 1 1/2 times the seasoning in and next time would probably double it. As for the peas? meh -- it would be fine with or without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Wow! Delicious! We didn't change a thing and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I was not overly thrilled with this recipe. It just didn't have enough flavor and I thought that the peas were kind of weird in it. I know that it is chili but it seemed like it was kind of mexican so the peas threw it off. I do think that it has good potential. Next time I will try with taco seasoning and eliminate the peas. Maybe add some salt & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This didn't do it for us. I used an extremely high-quality chili powder and followed the instructions exactly,but this was a pretty "blah" dish. It was so flavorless that we had to sprinkle taco seasoning on it at the table to make it taste like anything. I took the leftovers to work the next day, but I couldn't bring myself to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOITX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moosehead
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used every ingredient mentioned and added some more. I added some crushed garlic, salt and pepper. I even added more chili powder and red pepper flakes b/c I like my food spicy. I bought a small jar of sour cream to top it off. It's an easy recipe to follow. I used a rod iron steel skillet instead of a casserole dish and changed the servings from 4 to 6. A serving is huge! Next time I'd add some chopped jalapenos, less corn and add more beef. i also added cheese on both layers and I used sharp chedder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moosehead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
pretty good. Re-heats well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
VERY good! Followed the recipe to a *T* and it was a surprise hit. When I do it again I will add a touch more tomatoes, but that is a personal preference. This dish is just great as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Here are the changes I made. I omitted the olive oil and cooked the onions with the ground beef. I omitted the peas and green peppers. I raised the amount of chili powder to 1 tsp. I used flour tortillas instead of corn. I also used 2 c. of mexican shredded cheese. When I put it all together, I put about 1/2 c. on bottom of pan. Then layered the tortillas, beef mixture and cheese. I repeated the layers and then sprinkled a little more cheese on top. It turned out pretty good, but could use some spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
very good as is, the only change i made was using sharp chedder, not low fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States