Chili - The Heat is On! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was a great recipe. We made 2 additions: 2 cans of black beans and 2 habaneros. Next time we would use spicy sausage or something in place of the ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blair, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
sure the heat is on, but the thermostat is definitely set at a reasonable level and everyone is plenty comfortable. we used the last portion of the chili in a baked spaghetti dish that was just plain dirty in a XXX way, especially after shredding about six ounces of Tillamoook extra sharp cheddar cheese over it before it went in the oven. yeah, you heard me. don't EVEN pretend you aren't fantasizing about going home and doing the same, either. I know you want to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This chili is fabulous!!!! I just made a batch and absolutely love it. The chili is perfectly spiced and you can just feel the heat at the back of your mouth with the first bite. This recipe does make a really thin chili, but if you used tomato sauce instead of juice, or if you add a mixture of 2 tablespoons cornstarch with 1/4 cup warm water, it thickens up nicely. I really can't say enough about how wonderful this chili is. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky839

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've made this chili about 4 or 5 times now, and it always gets great reviews from everyone. I subbed the serrano peppers with anaheim peppers(they are a little less spicy) and added a couple jalapenos as well. For the beer, I use Guinness Extra Stout, and I add cubed steak to the meat. We make cheesy corn bread to have with it,and top it with shredded cheddar and sour cream! We love it here! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great Chili, I replaced the serrano peppers with 3 hungarian and omitted the green bell pepper. I found the best results cane with using Sam Adams Oktoberfest (if available). Served over mashed potatoes patties fried to a golden brown. Have had multiple people claim "Best Chili Ever!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I loved this tangy spicy chili. My hubby thought it was a bit spicy, but I thought it was just right. I served this over corn chips with grated cheddar and sour cream. I used chopped jalapeno instead of serrano. I used half the onion called for. I did add a can of kidney beans. I cut this half and only used ground beef. I didn't care for the chunks of tomaotes in it and next time maybe I'll use puree or crushed tomatoes. Thanks Scotdog for recommending this chili and Thanks jamjar for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was so, so delish! I scaled to 6 servings but wish I had left it at 12. I skipped the oil and threw in 1 lb of ground meat with veggies. My local grocery store said they didn't have ground pork right now. Since I used lean ground beef I didn't even worry about draining the grease. Let this cook for several hours & my hubbie & I decided this was the best chili ever. Crush up tortilla chips in the bottom, pour chili & top with cheese. Mann, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe produced a nice bean-free chile. I used two chiles after removing most of their seeds and ribs. There was still plenty of heat in the chili. I also used a 24oz bottle of Beck's dark ale with terrific results. This is not a thick, fork-stands-upright-in-the-bowl chile. I served it over brown basmati rice with grated cheese and sour cream one night and over baked potato the next. Like most chiles, this one tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States