Chiles Rellenos (Stuffed Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Made these for dinner and they turned out great. They are more filling then regular cheese filled chiles. We don't eat our chile rellanos with rice as a side we usually have them with corn tortillas as I serve them with a broth of sauted onion, garlic, tomato and cilantro with chicken broth. However, I did add potato and carrots with the meat mixture making it a picadillo. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYANNAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I ended up roasting 3 peppers and not roasting 3 other peppers and put them to the taste test. My family agreed we liked the taste and texture of the peppers that were Not roasted. I like my chile rellenos with cheese only and I knew I wouldn't like mozzarella, so I used montery jack. Good, but I'll continue to search for a better mexican cheese. (but maybe with the meat mixture it works better) I loved the coating - make sure you whip the whites almost stiff. The first few with the stiff egg whites came out much better than the peppers coated with only the frothy egg in the bottom of the bowl. UPDATE: At a restaurant I prefer cheese only, but for this recipe I prefer the ground beef and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
LOVED this recipe, and so did my sisters and they're very picky eaters!! I learned not to let the egg mixture sit for too long becauuse it will go flat, and also cut the chiles carefully because it will get messy with all the toothpicks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I've been wanting to try cooking my own!! I prefer only cheese in my Rellenos. Using a restaurant sauce over the home made Chiles Rellenos sounds like a good idea. I'd really like to learn to make that, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I saw this recipe being made by mexican chefs in mexico on PBS. What I saw them do differently is they dipped chille in egg white fluff...no yolk, then lightly dusted with flour and deep fryed the chille. If you have a deep fryer...that's the way to go. My chille's were a disaster b/cos I had to flip them over in the fryer and I lost alot of the crust. Other than that a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMOREL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I made this recipe but instead of frying I layered the ingredients in a rectangular pyrex peppers, cheese, meat and tomato sauce , black beans and corn onions and cilantro, more cheese and then the egg mixture on top and baked in oven at 350 for 25 minuted instead. Came out great and less greasy than original fried recipe. served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very, very good......was quite a bit of preparation, but worth every minute. Will definitely try it again and again. Hopefully it will freeze well and I will make a bigger batch next time. I went to our local Mexican Restaurant and bought their Ranchero Sauce to put over the top of peppers........great!! Would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was ok. when you roast the peppers, make sure you roast every inch, and expect it to take a long time. (I learned that the hard way.) Also, you definitely need some type of sauce to go with it, or else it is way too dry. the meat mixure is good, but a little heavy. Next time, I would definitely half the meat mixture and add more cheese. Overall it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by txchica
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used queso fresco instead of mozarella cheese. These were sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txchica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Omit the ground beef and do not roast the peppers! Much easier and they turn out great! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States