Chiles Rellenos (Stuffed Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I made this recipe but instead of frying I layered the ingredients in a rectangular pyrex peppers, cheese, meat and tomato sauce , black beans and corn onions and cilantro, more cheese and then the egg mixture on top and baked in oven at 350 for 25 minuted instead. Came out great and less greasy than original fried recipe. served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very, very good......was quite a bit of preparation, but worth every minute. Will definitely try it again and again. Hopefully it will freeze well and I will make a bigger batch next time. I went to our local Mexican Restaurant and bought their Ranchero Sauce to put over the top of peppers........great!! Would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was ok. when you roast the peppers, make sure you roast every inch, and expect it to take a long time. (I learned that the hard way.) Also, you definitely need some type of sauce to go with it, or else it is way too dry. the meat mixure is good, but a little heavy. Next time, I would definitely half the meat mixture and add more cheese. Overall it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by txchica
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used queso fresco instead of mozarella cheese. These were sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txchica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Omit the ground beef and do not roast the peppers! Much easier and they turn out great! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
peppers did not cook fully by frying them (20 min). some peppers very hot, too much filling, but otherwise very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was a very tasty dish! My husband even liked it and he''s not a big pepper kinda guy. However, it was very labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is an authentic recipe, something that would really top it off is a nice tomato sauce over the top. I use about 4 roma tomatoes, 1/2 white onion diced, 2 garlic cloves chopped finely, 1-1/2 chicken bouillon cube, and about 2 cups of water. Put everything in pan and bring to boil, then once tomatoes are tender, put it in the blender and blend until smooth. Pour over the chile rellenos, and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My family and I really enjoyed these. It was my first time making them, and they turned out fantastic. I also made spanish rice with mix veggies as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Much spicier than you'd think. I am married to a chef, and he said bell peppers would have taken it down to less spicy if you prefer. But pretty simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States