Chiles Rellenos (Stuffed Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We really like these. My husband is so happy I can make them at home, he won't have to go out to eat to have one.LOL The only thing I really did different is I mixed half ground beef and half chorizo, it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Latham, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My husband LOVES chile rellenos so I was excited to find this recipe! The restuarants around here do NOT batter and fry them so I didn't do that either. YUMMY! He was so excited and told me I had to make them at least once a month. :) One other change I made is that I used Land O'Lakes white american cheese instead of mozzerella...I've been told that's what our favorite Mexican restuarants use, and from the taste, I think they're right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I used Queso Blanco instead of mozzarella, as recommended by another reviewer, these were absolutely FABULOUS!!! The MAN friend had 2, and normally I can't get him to hardly finish his plate for ANYTHING! I had some left over taco meat so I got to skip a step, and one egg was plenty for 3 Poblano peppers, had some bacon drippings, so I skipped the more heavy and excessive corn oil. Topped with heated picante sauce and served with home made spanish brown rice! We WILL be having again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Must try but be warned that they are messy and time consuming. Read the directions and make a mental note of how you will prep all of the other sides you will be making with this main dish. The chilies alone take a lot of time. Aside from how disgusting mine looked because I over grilled the chiles and over stuffed them... they were like a little bit of heaven. Even after all of them mess and time it was totally worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I made this yesterday but I made the mistake of adding a small amount of adobe sauce. WOW I only used a teaspoon and was it HOT. Otherwise delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I really liked using the flour instead of a batter. Combining the filling of half meat and half cheese worked perfectly for my version using chorizo sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These do take some time to make, but are totally worth it. Mine took a little under 2 hours. (I wasn't rushing, but wasn't totally taking my time either). I used a cheddar and jack cheese blend instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand. I will definitely make these again. My husband and father were very impressed and gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlikescows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was good but just to much grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I wanted to make that dish because we had it in Mexico and we liked it. It took only 45 minutes to make 5 peppers. Authentic version we tried had a thicker coating, I assume you can increase coating thickness by alternating flour and egg several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Good but NEVER EVER rinse the peppers after roasting. A big no-no. It washes away the smokey-char of the skin that adds depth to the roasted pepper. Just remove what you can and the rest of the small burned bits remaining add to the dish's authenticity. I also am a purist and omit the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOFORCE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States