Chiles Rellenos (Stuffed Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
These were fabulous. I didn't blacken the skins, just got them to where they had separated from the pepper and then gently rubbed them off. I sliced them open only about half way, that way I wouldn't have as much pepper to suture up later with toothpicks and gently crammed the cheese mixture into the cavity of the pepper. Everyone gobbled them up and I was only able to salvage 2 for myself. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Nice flavor, but very labor intensive, and they tended to fall apart. I saved most, and they were pretty good. Also used veggie crumbles instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Came out great! My husband and I didn't put any meat in it just cheese, since this is what we're used to. Next time we will definitely try w/meat. Also, instead of mozzarella, try cotija cheese.. it works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
We messed up when blistering/roasting peppers so they got mushy and the final product didn't look too pretty. We also used hot italian sausage instead of hamburger which was really good. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was always a dish my husband and his brother requested and always a dish that I feared! Followed the directions EXACTLY and ended up with two very happy Mexican men!Would definitely do agaain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Locust Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
We like these best without the beef but they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
The peppers fell apart and the toothpicks weren't saving them. Not sure how long they were supposed to be broiled but I guess they were overdone. Also the fried part was too oily to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I have made these before and they are absolutely wonderful......if you can't take the heat, you can use anaheim peppers instead. Because I haven't found a good recipe for ranchero sauce, we purchase it from our favorite Mexican restaurant and spoon over the top of the peppers. These freeze well also, so if you are taking the time to prepare them already, take a little extra time to prepare some for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Reminded me of summers at my abuelitas house. I used mexican queso fresco (Cacique Brand) because that's what I remember my granma using. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Finally, a trully authentic Mexican recipe just like my granmas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
very labor intensive with having to blacken and peel the peppers. While I was peeling the peppers they fell apart so I could not seal them back up, and therefor could not finish the recipe as directed. (I would have had tooth picks all over to hold them together). So I stuffed them as directed with the meat mixture and cheese on top and baked them. I used the cheese the recipe called for on two of them and used goat cheese on the other two. Flavor was good but too much work for the return.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States