Chiles Rellenos (Stuffed Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Since this was the first time for making this for me, I made a few mistakes. I roasted the peppers too long so they didn't maintain their firmness and I had trouble getting the seeds out through a small slit. Because I cooked them too long, the toothpick trick didn't work. I didn't use a large enough bowl to coat the rellenos in the egg mixture so the coating wasn't even. Since these were issues for me, I thought I would pass it on. I looked specifically for a recipe that had beef in it. I also substituted tomatillos for the tomatoes. These tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hambismommy
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I was really hesitant about coating with the egg white but it came out perfectly! I added a little enchilada sauce to the meat mixture before stuffing and used a Mexican blend of cheese in place of the mozzarella. Served with more enchilada sauce and grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
3 stars because this was not easy for me...being my first time to work with peppers this way. THIS DOES NOT REFLECT THE RECIPE...as I'm sure better cooks did a better job. I just want anyone out there that is not real experienced to know ahead of time...it's not easy. I wish someone could message me on what I did wrong. :( I plan on making them again, but my peppers all fell apart. They were ripping here and there...stuff falling out...barely got them fried up. My husband wasn't impressed...with MY cooking...not the recipe. I love stuffed peppers and really want to make this wonderful recipe work! HELP!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I'm not the fan of Chile Rellenos to begin with, so I'll go off my husband's opinion as it's his favorite dish. He thinks something is missing... but besides that this is one of the best versions we've found on this site. We used some Mexican queso instead of mozzarella for fear it would be too bland. Will keep searching for that missing piece....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Substituted with gluten free flour, about to sit down and see! (Crosses fingers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I don't know if it is fair for me to review this, but these were VERY difficult to make! I did the egg mixture and surprised that it stuck to the pepper well but it did not taste the same. I had trouble peeling the peppers' skin and making the right thickness of batter. I melted a spatula in the oil and the second one turned out okay but would definitely not attempt this again. I very much respect the mexican restaurants now and will enjoy them even more now when I order them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Lots of work. This will be a dish for special occasions. I added cooked bacon with the cheese to the inside of the pepper. Can't go wrong with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Good Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I'm not a fan of fried food, so I think this is a good alternative. Roast peppers and make mix as described. If you like spicy like me? Add a chopped jalepeno and 1/4 cup pine nuts. Stuff peppers, and add 2 tablespoons of your face tomato sauce. Top with the Mozz cheese. Bake for 1/2 hour. I believe this is a good healthy way to go, and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We really like these. My husband is so happy I can make them at home, he won't have to go out to eat to have one.LOL The only thing I really did different is I mixed half ground beef and half chorizo, it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Latham, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States