Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
this is a great recipe! bought fresh poblanos and roasted them...(thanks for the tip on putting them in the bag to steam off the skin!) when constructing the "pie" I put chiles on the bottom, cheese, chicken, more chiles, more cheese, then poured the egg over top. my husband said this may be his favorite thing I've ever made! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
everyone ate it, and said it has a certain appeal. My husband, the true chile relleno lover, however, did not deign it a true keeper. If I try this again, I will def. make a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is one awesome dish! I used fresh roasted green chile, and added garlic & onion. I'll certainly make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this meal for my husband. He is a huge fan of the traditional chiles rellenos. He thought it was fantastic. We don't eat meat so I omitted the chicken. My only complaint was that the recipe did not say how long it would take for the chiles to roast. As a result I think I over-roasted them. Next time I make this recipe I will shorten the roasting time. Other than that, this dish was a hit. We can't wait for dinner tonight to dig in on the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was delicious! I used Supremo brand Queso Chihuahua shredded cheese instead of jack cheese because it was available shredded, and it tasted wonderful. Be sure to steam the peppers in a Ziploc for at least 5 mins like others suggested, this makes them so much easier to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I was very excited about making it, but when it was done, it was disappointing. My husband even asked "What's in it?". We ate it, but the flavor was bland. Even with the flavor of the peppers, it needed something. I'm not sure what. Salt maybe? Some sort of seasoning. I seasoned the chicken with SW seasoning, but it wasn't enough, I guess. Anyway, it was fun to make, but I probably won't make it again. Hubby had a good suggestion about somehow stuffing a chicken breast with these ingredients and flavors. I don't know how you could do that since the liquid needs to be cooked to "set". If I make it again, I'll kick it up with some seasoning for sure. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Thank you for this great recipe. My grocery store sales frozen poblano peppers. They are already roasted, peeled and ready to cook or stuff. That made this recipe so easy and fast to make. I plan to make this every time I have some leftover cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is fabulous. I made it with no changes whatsoever. My husband loves Chiles Rellenos at a restaurant, and he said this is the best he's ever eaten. In fact, the whole family loved it. This is not eggy enough to be a quiche, and it is much easier than making individual chiles rellenos, and absolutely just as tasty, if not more so! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is one of my husbands favorite recipes. He loves having it for dinner and then having the leftovers for breakfast. Have successfully used fat-free evaporated milk, and light sour cream as well as reduced fat cheese. Don't suggest fat free cheese, it won't melt. Roasting fresh chiles makes a big difference in flavor but canned will do if you are in a hurry. Once they come out of the oven I throw them in a ziploc bag to cool...it kinda steams them and helps the skin come off easy. Remember to never wash them after roasting or you wash off all the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
We really did not care much for this recipe. This was way too eggy, it was like quiche in my opinion. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was really bland. I thought it could use some salt, and some kick. I have to say that I have had better Chiles Rellenos recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States