Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a hit! I needed a side dish for my "bunko" night dinner. I omited the chicken and salsa. I also added a second layer. I only had enough fresh peppers to do one layer so for the second layer I used canned whole chilis. I used colby cheese becuase that's what I had on hand. It was dealious. I have made it again, with just canned chilis and regular milk, not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook on the Mountain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this, used half/half instead of the evaporated milk. (it was what I had on hand) I made mine spicier with some home made salsa. Boyfriend told me it was a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpbev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I would definitely make this again. It was a great success when I had a Cinco de Mayo brunch at home with friends. The peppers took awhile to roast and peel but I put the peppers in a ziploc bag for a while after roasting so the skin came off easily. I made it all the day before and just put it in the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good! I used reduced fat cheese and fat free condensed milk. I had to let it cook an extra 10 minutes or so longer. I only had 5 chiles, but they seemed to be plenty. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was absolutely amazing!! Easy and soooo delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Simple and tasty--just what I was looking for. (simplified by using canned chilies.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I wanted to prepare actual Chile Rellenos but decided to try this casserole-version for its simplicity and was delighted with it. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I shredded the chicken as I prefer texture when shredded. I don't think I roasted the peppers quite long enough, because even though I let them sweat for a few minutes in a paper bag, I still had a tough time peeling. Forgetting to half the recipe, I ended up eating this for lunch several times and didn't tire of it. It was fluffy and cheesy, with just a slight heat from the peppers that seemed to have flavored up through the other layers. I will definitely add this to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I did not care for this dish at all. We could not finished eating what was on our plate. I really had no taste at all, and I went by the receipe. After reading the reviews, I was so desappointed. I consider myself a very good cook, and I fix alot of Mexican dishes. My family loves Mexican food, and we go to Mexican resturants alot, and have never gotten a dish we did not love, but this one, I just don't understand how other people rate it so high. I would not give it 1 star, infact I threw out what we did not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
okay, but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
made this a while we enjoyed it, it just seemed to be missing something....I'll probably try it again with a few tweaks....there also seemed to be to much "batter" for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States