Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
We are gluten free so I used sorghum flour (1-2 Tbsp). Excellent! Made to recipe except that I only had 4 poblano peppers so I added 2 anaheim peppers to make 6 peppers. Everyone loved it and we like Mexican food with a little heat. Easy to make but 1 1/2 hours is true, plan on the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Fantastic! I fixed it for company and everyone loved it. I cut the chiles into large chunks so they would be easier to cut later. Instead of salsa at the end I topped it with chipotle enchilada sauce, served it with black beans and spanish rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great recipe! Added chopped onions, cilantro and diced pablanos to chicken mixture. Also added diced cilantro to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
this was great! my husband doesnt eat rellenos at restaurants but i do, and it tasted darn similar. The texture of course was a little different. I was skeptical about the egg/milk/cream topping..but when it was cooked it looked great! we halved recipe and baked in a 9x9 square pan. i added salsa at the table. i accidentally put chicken on before the cheese...which led to the cheese melding with the topping...which made it look like cheese....which we thought was great :) i also eyeballed the cheese, i just did enough to cover the chiles, it def wasn't 2 cups worth. it was plenty. will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe is a great unfried alternative that boasts a very similar taste to the popular dish. My only gripe is that I had a hard time finding the peppers are the bottom of the pie, and they should be the star of the dish! If/when I make this again I will use twice as many poblanos and 1/2 or at most 3/4 of the cheese, and repeat the layers twice like a lasagna. Still, the most important part of the dish - the flavor - was spot on and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
YUM! Only used about 1 cup of salsa since more would not fit in my dish and I think that was all it needed. Broiled the chiles for about 10 minutes, turning peppers about every 2 mins, then placed in a paper bag for about 10 more minutes, skins peeled off very easily. Next time I will remove the seeds before roasting and add more chicken. I hope it is as good tomorrow as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I absentmindedly made Ranch Dip (Hidden Valley) with my sour cream a few days in advance of this popping up on my menu! Oh no! So I added ground cumin, ground coriander, and crushed red pepper to the milk/flour mix, added in the Ranch/sour cream, and used an extra two eggs - turned out great! I am a little impressed with myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I received a bunch of poblanos in my CSA box so I thought I'd give this a try. I substituted leftover shredded rotisserie chicken and panela cheese, which I like much better. I would also recommend topping with a red chile sauce instead of salsa, which is much better and more authentic. I love Chiles Rellenos, but I don't fry anything at home, this recipe is the perfect solution, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The flavor on this was pretty good, but for me, the only thing holding it back is the texture. One of the best parts of Chile Rellenos is the crunchy crust on the outside, and that's missing from this recipe. If I make it again, I'll put a puff pastry crust over the top, or even some buttered bread crumbs to give it a little more texture. Otherwise, it's just a bit too custardy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States