Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was really good and very different from anything I've made before. Spicy and tasty! I will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good taste. I did not cook & peel poblanos but cleaned and cut into 2 inch squares and lined casserole dish with them raw. It turned out delicious. I will make this again and try ground beef instead of chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBE8FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was a good casserole that tasted similar to chile rellenos. I left out the chicken and substituted milk for evaporated milk. Also, I used reduced fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe was good . A lil too much time to prepare it. but really not what i was exspecting ,but good especially for bunch ! u could leave the chicken out cause you really couldn't taste it any how
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon aguilar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe is OK and for you true chefs out there leaves room for improvement. My first suggestion is to echo a prior post by adding cheese to both the bottom and top of the Chiles. For those like me with a hot tongue I should have probably used a hotter pepper but the Poblanos were serviceable. I think you absolutely have to add meat to this dish...either shredded chicken or steak. I also added mushrooms which were a great addition. Note that there is nothing in the way of spices added to this..that's were your creativity can come with by using traditional Mexican spice combinations. The suggestion to cool the chiles in a bag immediately after broiling them is a great idea..my problem is I don't think I let them cool long enough. I think this recipe is a solid three star as is, with my modifications I think it's maybe a 3.5...I feel it is still missing something. Yes, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Excellent! Even though I had to substitute some ingredients it turned out beautiful and delicious! I used no melk but water with defatted pan juices, added thick greek yoghurt and one egg. Used canned red peppers, rinsed, the not hot variety (hubby hates spicey food) and I adde a clove of garlic. I added hot pepper to my portion. Great way to use leftover chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Very good. I baked it in an 8x8 casserole, and in hindsight, I should've used a 9x11. The filling layer was very thick. I put the salsa on the side instead of on top, and instead of chicken I used leftover turkey. I would make it again, adding more poblanos to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was good but not great. I think the reviewer who thought the topping was too sweet must have used sweetened condensed milk by mistake. Flavors were good but topping layer seemed too thick. I would suggest putting a layer of topping down before the peppers to reduce the amount on top and maybe blend the topping with another one of the peppers to get more flavor into it. I used Salsa Verde and sprinkled a little more cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Really good! Spent a few minutes to roast the poblanos in the oven. Used the 'let it sit for a few minutes in a bag' trick and everybody raved about how yummy this dish was! Did the entire recipe as written with only one exception. Topped it with a bit of reserved shredded cheese instead of salsa and served the salsa on the side. Absolutely fabulous. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good dish, I did use pepper jack to give it a kick and enchilada sauce instead of salsa. Very good recipe, Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolivia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Winnabow, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States