Chiles en Nogada (Stuffed Poblano Chile Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I am mexican and chiles en nogada get their name from the sauce; nogada derives from nut and is cream, pecans and spices, not goat cheese, and is aserved with pomegranate. THe filling is usually beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I loved the combinations of flavors but there must be an error in the creamy goat cheese sauce. This sauce was too thick and couldn't be poured. I would make it again but add milk to thin the mixture so that it could be poured over the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Outstanding for creativity, flavor and presentation. I do have a few suggestions. It took me about an hour to roast and clean a dozen large poblanos - which is not factored into the time requirement. I also left a few seeds to add some heat, substituted about one-half pork (for a total of about 2.5-3 lbs meat), and reduced the cream cheese to one 8 oz package (and still needed to thin a little with milk). Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This recipe is just out of this world! It really is an extraordinary blend of flavors. I've had a similar dish at San Angel Inn at Walt Disney World Epcot Resort. It was made with pork instead of chicken. I was told that this dish is normally served warm or at room temperature and pomegranate seeds are added for garnish. Next time I make it, I will add the pomegranate seeds - it really adds to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used this recipe and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaluwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
i am glad i finally found the recipe for this although it is confusing because i know that these chiles usually use cream and pomegranate seeds as a garnish!! cuz that way the colors are green, white and red. that's why it's such a patriotic dish around september!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estefania

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The original chiles en nogada are with meat, almonds, and fresh fruits, sauced with tomatoe sauce, nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon... sorry, i didn´t like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made a few changes due to personal preference and what I had on hand. I used chicken breasts, and omitted the raisins, nutmeg and walnuts (we're not huge fans, and I didn't really like the idea of them in this recipe). I upped the amount of garlic, and also added some Adobo seasoning. I topped the sauced peppers with some Mexican cheese blend, and broiled them til the cheese was bubbly. Served it with tomato/cilantro rice. Wow, what an awesome meal! Husband couldn't get enough. Thanks, Lucy Loo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Excellent spices and flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved the spices, the raisins and walnuts and it was fairly easy to make. I was not the biggest fan of the white sauce, I found it to be too thick. I tried adding some milk like I read in a previous review, but it was still not very saucy. I may try it with a different kind of cheese next time instead. Over all a recipe I want to keep and use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States