Chiles en Nogada (Stuffed Poblano Chile Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I loved the combinations of flavors but there must be an error in the creamy goat cheese sauce. This sauce was too thick and couldn't be poured. I would make it again but add milk to thin the mixture so that it could be poured over the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This is the recipie I have always wanted to try since I ordered something similar at my favorite mexican restaurant. It is delicious and worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Very good - I really enjoyed this recipe. I did however make one substitution - I used canned chicken in place of fresh. Made it a lot easier and quicker to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Outstanding for creativity, flavor and presentation. I do have a few suggestions. It took me about an hour to roast and clean a dozen large poblanos - which is not factored into the time requirement. I also left a few seeds to add some heat, substituted about one-half pork (for a total of about 2.5-3 lbs meat), and reduced the cream cheese to one 8 oz package (and still needed to thin a little with milk). Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This recipe is just out of this world! It really is an extraordinary blend of flavors. I've had a similar dish at San Angel Inn at Walt Disney World Epcot Resort. It was made with pork instead of chicken. I was told that this dish is normally served warm or at room temperature and pomegranate seeds are added for garnish. Next time I make it, I will add the pomegranate seeds - it really adds to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I am mexican and chiles en nogada get their name from the sauce; nogada derives from nut and is cream, pecans and spices, not goat cheese, and is aserved with pomegranate. THe filling is usually beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Excellent spices and flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I didn't have carrots or tomato paste, so i started with a little butter to saute the celery and onion, later added all other ingredients and further used jalepeno queso on top of the stuffed peppers and broiled for 5 minutes instead of doing the goat cheese sauce. Also used canned chicken instead of making my own and turned out delicious! anyway you do it, this one is good and great for first time poblano pepper cookers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made a few changes due to personal preference and what I had on hand. I used chicken breasts, and omitted the raisins, nutmeg and walnuts (we're not huge fans, and I didn't really like the idea of them in this recipe). I upped the amount of garlic, and also added some Adobo seasoning. I topped the sauced peppers with some Mexican cheese blend, and broiled them til the cheese was bubbly. Served it with tomato/cilantro rice. Wow, what an awesome meal! Husband couldn't get enough. Thanks, Lucy Loo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The original chiles en nogada are with meat, almonds, and fresh fruits, sauced with tomatoe sauce, nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon... sorry, i didn´t like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States