Chiles en Nogada (Stuffed Poblano Chile Peppers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I absolutely love making Chiles en Nogada. Used to make them all the time for different class functions. However you will note that the meat is usually a combination of ground beef and pork, mixed with spices, dried fruit, and nuts. The walnut sauce (nogada) is not made with goat cheese (that must taste horrible!). If you are looking for the real recipe, try a mexican cookbook, or ask your local mexican restaurant. Don't rely on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used this recipe and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaluwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved the spices, the raisins and walnuts and it was fairly easy to make. I was not the biggest fan of the white sauce, I found it to be too thick. I tried adding some milk like I read in a previous review, but it was still not very saucy. I may try it with a different kind of cheese next time instead. Over all a recipe I want to keep and use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
i am glad i finally found the recipe for this although it is confusing because i know that these chiles usually use cream and pomegranate seeds as a garnish!! cuz that way the colors are green, white and red. that's why it's such a patriotic dish around september!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estefania

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The original chiles en nogada are with meat, almonds, and fresh fruits, sauced with tomatoe sauce, nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon... sorry, i didn´t like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made a few changes due to personal preference and what I had on hand. I used chicken breasts, and omitted the raisins, nutmeg and walnuts (we're not huge fans, and I didn't really like the idea of them in this recipe). I upped the amount of garlic, and also added some Adobo seasoning. I topped the sauced peppers with some Mexican cheese blend, and broiled them til the cheese was bubbly. Served it with tomato/cilantro rice. Wow, what an awesome meal! Husband couldn't get enough. Thanks, Lucy Loo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I didn't have carrots or tomato paste, so i started with a little butter to saute the celery and onion, later added all other ingredients and further used jalepeno queso on top of the stuffed peppers and broiled for 5 minutes instead of doing the goat cheese sauce. Also used canned chicken instead of making my own and turned out delicious! anyway you do it, this one is good and great for first time poblano pepper cookers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Excellent spices and flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I am mexican and chiles en nogada get their name from the sauce; nogada derives from nut and is cream, pecans and spices, not goat cheese, and is aserved with pomegranate. THe filling is usually beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This recipe is just out of this world! It really is an extraordinary blend of flavors. I've had a similar dish at San Angel Inn at Walt Disney World Epcot Resort. It was made with pork instead of chicken. I was told that this dish is normally served warm or at room temperature and pomegranate seeds are added for garnish. Next time I make it, I will add the pomegranate seeds - it really adds to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States