Chilean Empanada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Love the combination of the olives and raisins in these chilean-style empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chileangoddess
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had more filling then dough and it seemed the dough was a little dry but the more i worked it the less dry it became. I also used groundbeef insead because whenever I've been to chile, that is what I would get plus I could not find ground pork. Very good. Esp liked that I could make the dough and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made this, first time ever making Empanadas, and it was a HUGE hit. I will definately be making this again. The filling is so good - everyone asked what was the slight sweetness inside and they could not guess it was the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littleja
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I have just made these. They are delicious! I had a teacher from Chile who used to bring empanadas to class. They taste exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious !!! a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Excellent empanadas! I have never eaten Chilean empanadas besides this ones, but the dough of this empanada was very similar to the ones I have eaten in Argentina. My filling was a bit different: bell pepper onion, ground turkey (instead of beef or pork) with the rest of the spices. The empanadas turned out excellent! It can be used as a great base for other meat empanadas! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe!! I added about half of the corn starch and water. Also, I added more salt to dough and water. Turned out wonderfully!! Empanadas did not last at our house! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My mother is from Chile and this recipe is almost exactly like hers. She used green olives with pimentos instead of black olives. An easier recipe for the dough is: four sticks of butter melted one cup of milk four cups of flour mix, cover and refrigerate over night let the dough sit at room temp for about 20 minutes and it is easy to roll, flaky and perfect brush empanadas with a beaten egg lightly before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Five stars for the dough. It was so easy to make and tasted delicious. I can't comment on the filling, because I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I was so excited to find this recipe. I lived in Chile for a year and have been craving empanadas ever since. These weren't as good as those I had in Chile but pretty close. Since other reviewers were saying the dough was too dry I only added 4 1/4 cups flour and used 2 sticks of butter instead of shortening and the dough was not dry at all and was very easy to work with. I put the dough in the fridge while I made the filling then took it out and rolled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States