Chilean Empanada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Thank you for this! my husband is from Chile also, and he loves Empanadas; however, I had no Idea where to start. Any more traditional Chilean recipies you have tucked under your sleeve would be appreciated. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Love the combination of the olives and raisins in these chilean-style empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My husband lived in Chile for 2 years and has eaten a lot of "authentic" (for lack of a better word) empanadas. We liked these, but next time we'll go a little lighter on the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made this recipe and found: 1- the filling to be very good and flavourful, I used ground beef instead 2- the dough as described was too dry and hard to handle, so I added water until it became soft and elastic (perhaps due to variation in flour) 3- i used the amounts for 18 empanadas but made 85 mini-empanadas for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scherezade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Photo by Chileangoddess
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had more filling then dough and it seemed the dough was a little dry but the more i worked it the less dry it became. I also used groundbeef insead because whenever I've been to chile, that is what I would get plus I could not find ground pork. Very good. Esp liked that I could make the dough and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These would have been better if the dough had more flavor. All the work it took to make them wasn't really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Muy ricas. La masa necesita más sal y yo también agregué un poquito más agua para una consistencia más deseable. Siempre omito las acetunas cuando hago las empanaditas, a mi no me gustan tanto.. pero igual las tuyas las hice y resultaron riqiusimos. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious !!! a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent! My parents were from Chile as well, and I have made these from recipes given to me by my relatives, but never made with pork until now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is for the dough only: it wasn't bad, but it wasn't the authentic empanada dough I was looking for. It wasn't flaky or pastry-like enough, so I'd say the proportions of butter and flour would need to be altered. If you aren't used to eating real empanadas, then this dough will do just fine, but if you are cooking for Latinos, you should keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States