Chilean Empanada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Muy ricas. La masa necesita más sal y yo también agregué un poquito más agua para una consistencia más deseable. Siempre omito las acetunas cuando hago las empanaditas, a mi no me gustan tanto.. pero igual las tuyas las hice y resultaron riqiusimos. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is for the dough only: it wasn't bad, but it wasn't the authentic empanada dough I was looking for. It wasn't flaky or pastry-like enough, so I'd say the proportions of butter and flour would need to be altered. If you aren't used to eating real empanadas, then this dough will do just fine, but if you are cooking for Latinos, you should keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chileangoddess
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had more filling then dough and it seemed the dough was a little dry but the more i worked it the less dry it became. I also used groundbeef insead because whenever I've been to chile, that is what I would get plus I could not find ground pork. Very good. Esp liked that I could make the dough and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Love the combination of the olives and raisins in these chilean-style empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Thank you for this! my husband is from Chile also, and he loves Empanadas; however, I had no Idea where to start. Any more traditional Chilean recipies you have tucked under your sleeve would be appreciated. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My mother is from Chile and this recipe is almost exactly like hers. She used green olives with pimentos instead of black olives. An easier recipe for the dough is: four sticks of butter melted one cup of milk four cups of flour mix, cover and refrigerate over night let the dough sit at room temp for about 20 minutes and it is easy to roll, flaky and perfect brush empanadas with a beaten egg lightly before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made this recipe and found: 1- the filling to be very good and flavourful, I used ground beef instead 2- the dough as described was too dry and hard to handle, so I added water until it became soft and elastic (perhaps due to variation in flour) 3- i used the amounts for 18 empanadas but made 85 mini-empanadas for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scherezade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made this, first time ever making Empanadas, and it was a HUGE hit. I will definately be making this again. The filling is so good - everyone asked what was the slight sweetness inside and they could not guess it was the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littleja
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I have just made these. They are delicious! I had a teacher from Chile who used to bring empanadas to class. They taste exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Im sorry that's not the way the chilean empanada are made Im from chile. There is not milk on the dough mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States