Chilean Empanada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I was so excited to find this recipe. I lived in Chile for a year and have been craving empanadas ever since. These weren't as good as those I had in Chile but pretty close. Since other reviewers were saying the dough was too dry I only added 4 1/4 cups flour and used 2 sticks of butter instead of shortening and the dough was not dry at all and was very easy to work with. I put the dough in the fridge while I made the filling then took it out and rolled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Five stars for the dough. It was so easy to make and tasted delicious. I can't comment on the filling, because I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My mother is from Chile and this recipe is almost exactly like hers. She used green olives with pimentos instead of black olives. An easier recipe for the dough is: four sticks of butter melted one cup of milk four cups of flour mix, cover and refrigerate over night let the dough sit at room temp for about 20 minutes and it is easy to roll, flaky and perfect brush empanadas with a beaten egg lightly before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe!! I added about half of the corn starch and water. Also, I added more salt to dough and water. Turned out wonderfully!! Empanadas did not last at our house! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was very nice and easy to make, although I had assistance from a stand mixer to make the dough. Otherwise, I think the dough would be a lot of work. Next time, though, I'll probably put some chilli flakes in it. There is a little bit of heat, but I like it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My empanadas came out delicious! Next time I won't put the cornstarch in the cup of water. I had to add more seasoning after that. Didn't really need the cornstarch. I also read how bland the dough was so I added oregano, and Italian seasoning to the flour and brown sugar to my butter flavored shortening and milk mixture. Definitely gave a great flavor to the crust of my delicious empanadas. A lot of work but worth it. Got meat leftover so I'll make more tomorrow for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Excellent empanadas! I have never eaten Chilean empanadas besides this ones, but the dough of this empanada was very similar to the ones I have eaten in Argentina. My filling was a bit different: bell pepper onion, ground turkey (instead of beef or pork) with the rest of the spices. The empanadas turned out excellent! It can be used as a great base for other meat empanadas! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made this, first time ever making Empanadas, and it was a HUGE hit. I will definately be making this again. The filling is so good - everyone asked what was the slight sweetness inside and they could not guess it was the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Im sorry that's not the way the chilean empanada are made Im from chile. There is not milk on the dough mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great recipe! I studied in Chile last fall and for my first time making empanadas they turned out pretty good. I'm not a big olive person so those were left out the only other thing I might change next time is using maybe 1/2 cup of raisins. I felt like there was a lot but they were still great. Also, I would consider getting pork and cutting it myself for the meat mixture. Thanks for a great recipe though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anavarrete2012

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States