Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The recipe was slightly bland. I added the juice of a whole lime and less chicken stock, which made the flavor have more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I loved this.I like how easy it was even in a crockpot.next time I will do it with a homemade verde sauce verse jarred. I put mine on corn tortillas with fresh cilantro, queso fresco and lime juice. Was so so good! Using leftovers for chimichangas.Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good. I used roasted green chiles from my freezer in place of the 3 types peppers. Made it for a group and it would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this one tonight, everyone LOVED it!!! Wife said this this is a keeper! I cut the recipe down to 8 servings, perfect for a little leftovers with 4 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very good but a lot of work. I do not make this too often because of the work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Loved this meal. Really enjoyed a green sauce for a change. Very flavoursome, excellent with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I quartered the broth as many mentioned in their reviews. I will say that perhaps chile verde doesn't have the same meaning to everyone and surely some prefer it as written. I wanted it to make burritos/tacos so thicker was good. The sauce had really good flavor and the pork took about 2 hours to be fork tender. I did turn down the heat after searing the pork to saute the vegetables and then simmered on low for the rest of the cook time. The recipe didn't indicate to ever turn it down from high heat. The flavor was milder than I expected so I wouldn't be afraid to use the full amount of peppers. Definitely a keeper, but the instructions are a little unclear. I thought about pureeing the peppers with the tomatillos but am glad I didn't. I think it would have removed some of the layering of the flavors. We used this in tacos and breakfast burritos and also as a main with colorado mexican rice. Good all ways. Flavor was a five as I made it but wouldn't have worked for us as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good recipe. Very similar to the green chili we would got in Colorado. Great for smothering burritos or for huevos rancheros. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
this is a great recipe. however I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars due to the directions state to just dice of the peppers and put them in to cook. there is no way for the peppers to cook down enough in the time this cooks for them to be appealing. I ended up roasting them with the tomatillos and still had to fish them out after they were diced and put in to cook because they still just weren't cooking down. I fished them out and blended the majority and put them back in. from now on I will roast all of the veggies. blend the tomatillo and garlic and then all the other peppers and add them. It has a really great flavor. Oh and the amount of broth in the recipe is way too much. I would start out with 1/4 - 1/2 of that then add more if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've made many batches of chile verde over the last twenty years, each time trying slightly different ingredients (especially the varieties of chiles) and techniques. This version is very similar to how I make it these days, with a couple of important differences. First of all, the amount of broth in this recipe is way too much! The batch I just made today had three pounds of pork shoulder and only 4 cups of chicken broth- not the 9 cups that Clare uses. I used three fresh poblanos and three anaheim chiles and about 1-1/2 pound of tomatillos. I roast them under the broiler, put in a large glass bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let them steam for at least a half hour (roasted chiles and tomatillos add great depth to the sauce). When it's time to peel and seed the chile's, DO NOT rinse them under water as you are doing this! I see this technique used in recipes all the time and it's a big mistake, as rinsing the chiles in water washes much of the roasted chile taste down the drain! Instead, take a paper towel and rub off the skin and wipe off the seeds from the inside of the chiles. I also chop the tomatillos into quarters and bake in a shallow greased baking pan at 400 degrees, stirring occasionally until they're nice and soft and begin to caramelize. I have found that a dutch oven works best for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chef John’s Parsley Salsa Verde

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States