Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a very good chile verde recipe! We like our food hot so I don't seed the jalapenos. I made use of the roasting the tomatillos tip and it was great! I've tried it in both the crock pot and as the recipe called. Both are good, but the crock pot really brings the flavors together since it cooks so much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Let me preface this by saying I've never had Chili Verde before. My friend came over with a couple of pounds of Tomatillos and I looked for a recipe to use them :o) As I said before I don't know what it's supposed to taste like but this was pretty great *sluurrp*! I cut my pork butt into steaks, rubbed them with liquid smoke, granulated garlic, onion powder, course salt and white pepper. Then I barbequed them on the grill until medium and cubed them when cooled. While I was grilling the steaks I also roasted my Poblano and Bell peppers. After they were all nicely roasted I put them into a bag to sweat. I then removed the seeds and skin and chopped them. I also blanched the Tomatillos and Jalapeños for a couple of minutes then (and this is where I made my Verde rookie mistake) I blended them, without seeding the Jalapeños! Certainly yielded a hotter finished product. I reserved the blanching water and used it to make my chicken stock (which I only made 12 cups of). Even with reducing the amount of stock it was still a little runny for me so in the last 10 minutes of cooking I removed 2 cups of liquid from the chili to which I whisked in 2 TBS of flour, then whisked it back into the Chili Verde. Perfect consistency in my opinion (but then again what do I know :o) ). I'm taking some to my Mexican friend, see if he likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have made this recipe several times and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I like the flavors of this chile verde. The consistency of the chile is to watery, I would like for the sauce to be a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for my BABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
almost as good as my mothers chile verde. I added 3 jalapenos instead of four since my dad really doesnt like spicy food.Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayragabriela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is great. Just a little side note, be careful after cutting up all of the pepper not to touch your face or eyes...they are not really hot enough to burn your mouth, but hot enough to burn your skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I am sure this is not the recipe's fault, but there was something way off for me. My husband and I decided it was actually the flavor of the tomitillos. However, I would be willing to try the recipe with red tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Awesome Recipe. I made it with beef instead of pork, reduced for 8 servings and it came out wonderfully. Only needed 5 cups of broth instead of the 7 the reduced recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I roasted the peppers and tomatillos for about 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees to soften them up. To "chop" the peppers and jalapenos I threw them in the food processor, but made sure they didn't get blended. I coated the pork in flour before browning it so the sauce would be a bit thicker in the end. I threw it all in a crockpot and let it cook on low overnight. I ended up using maybe 2-3 cups of chicken broth - just enough to give it a little sauce. It filled up my huge crockpot almost to the top! I think the amount of chicken broth this recipe calls for would be way too much. I left out the cilantro, but definitely regretted it. It was good - just not as flavorful as it could be. Make sure you use a fatty cut of pork as it is better that way. And next time I am not going to seed the jalapenos. It hardly had any heat to it for my taste. Overall a tasty chile verde recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious! Followed the directions exactly and everyone (including a pretty picky four year old) LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States